
![]() |
I have a character that uses a Spell Storing weapon with several Metamagic feats (such as Intensify, Heighten and Elemental). My question is if I prepared a spell such as Heightened (+1 spell level) Intensified (+1 spell level) Cold (+1 spell level) Shocking Grasp (1st level spell) for a normal result of a 4th level spell. This is then modified by my Magical Lineage(Shocking Grasp) to become a 3rd Level spell.
Would I be able to cast it into my Spell Storing weapon because (for me) it is a 3rd level spell, or not?

Lord Pendragon |

It's not a 3rd-level spell. It's a 2nd-level spell, since you've Heightened it once. Heighten Spell is the only metamagic that actually alters a spell's level.
A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to a maximum of 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies.

![]() |

Yes, you would be able to put it into the spell storing weapon.
Lord_Pendragon, by your logic, you could place an intensified, maximized, piercing, dazing, sickening, thundering vampiric touch into a spell storing weapon...
Metamagic feats increase the spell level slot required, which a spell storing weapon has 1 of. A level 3 spell slot (The weapon is in fact the caster, so it would have a "Spell Slot").
Hope that makes some sense...

Lord Pendragon |

Lord_Pendragon, by your logic, you could place an intensified, maximized, piercing, dazing, sickening, thundering vampiric touch into a spell storing weapon...
It's not my logic, it's RAW. Metamagic spells act in all ways at their original spell level, except in that they require a higher spell slot to cast. It's straight out of the core rules. And the spell you mention cannot exist, as it would require a 11th-level slot to cast, at the least. ;)
Metamagic feats increase the spell level slot required, which a spell storing weapon has 1 of. A level 3 spell slot (The weapon is in fact the caster, so it would have a "Spell Slot").
Interesting. My thought was that the spell storing weapon merely contains a spell of the given level, and given the RAW regarding metamagic, you could place a metamagicked spell in legally.
But your suggestion that the ring actually has a spell slot is interesting. If that were the case I'd have to agree with you, since that's the one way metamagic spells don't operate at their actual spell levels...in the spell slot required to cast them.
Indeed...I think you've convinced me to rule as you say. The ring can't hold a spell that requires higher than a 3rd-level spell slot to cast.