Newb Cleric Questions: Touch Attacks, Channel Energy, Preparing Spells


Rules Questions


Hey all,

I am a little bit confused about a couple of things after my first session playing pathfinder (everyone is new at it, and i am surprised at how well we went!).

Anyway, on touch attacks: Do I have to have a free hand? If I have a mace in my primary hand do I only use half my strength modifier because it is an off-hand attack?

On Channel Energy: There is not an example of a 30ft radius in the CRB. Am I correct in assuming that if I could move to the square with a movement of 30ft the channeled energy would reach it?

On Preparing spells can I put the same spell in multiple slots? E.g. can I theoretically fill all slots with Cure Light Wounds? (I am a neutral cleric channeling negative energy)

Thanks for your help everyone!

Scarab Sages

Xenoris wrote:

Hey all,

I am a little bit confused about a couple of things after my first session playing pathfinder (everyone is new at it, and i am surprised at how well we went!).

Anyway, on touch attacks: Do I have to have a free hand? If I have a mace in my primary hand do I only use half my strength modifier because it is an off-hand attack?

On Channel Energy: There is not an example of a 30ft radius in the CRB. Am I correct in assuming that if I could move to the square with a movement of 30ft the channeled energy would reach it?

On Preparing spells can I put the same spell in multiple slots? E.g. can I theoretically fill all slots with Cure Light Wounds? (I am a neutral cleric channeling negative energy)

Thanks for your help everyone!

Re: your touch attack question, are you thinking for touch spells, and are you asking whether you would only use half of your STR modifier to hit because you're making your touch attack with your non-mace-wielding hand? If so -- I think the halving of the STR modifier only applies to damage, not to your attack roll. Maybe someone else can shed more light on this -- I usually play casters, so I don't make off-hand attacks very often (at all, come to think of it).

Re: channel energy, that sounds right.

Re: preparing spells, yes you can...generally speaking. One exception is domain spells -- those can only go into your domain slot, unless they're also on the Cleric spell list.

Ok, now a follow-up question. I'm a Chaotic Neutral positive energy channeling Cleric. I'm planning to take the Versatile Channeler feat at 3rd level. When I pick that feat up, will I be able to spontaneously cast both Cure and Inflict spells, or just Cure spells because that was my initial choice at 1st level?


1. You never add strength to damage for your touch attacks. You do need a free hand to cast but removing a hand from a weapon is a free action so you can go from two handing your mace to having a free hand to cast. "Main hand" and "off hand" only really apply if you are using Two Weapon Fighting (or if you're using a two hander and still saying you want to use armor spikes too... but that's another discussion and doesn't apply here).

2. That's how I always assumed the Channel Energy range worked.

3. Yes you can prepare the same spell multiple times. You can also leave spell slots open and prepare what spells you need throughout the day, but that takes 15 minutes to do iirc so it has no in-combat use.

4. In regards to Versatile Channeler, it only does what it says it does so it would not give you the ability to spontaneously cast both Cure and Inflict.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Newb Cleric Questions: Touch Attacks, Channel Energy, Preparing Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions