| David C Smith |
One of my players, a monk, sent me this question. I am not sure how to respond. How does this work??
"as i understand and can be altered by ruling can trip as part of a flurry if i fail i can free action drop weapon to not to be triped if so weapon cords let me recover weapon as swift if i do i get 2ed flurry trip atk if limited to one free action then i may be triped after that if not then drop weapon recover next round. or is that wrong"
| TGMaxMaxer |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Trip, Sunder, and Disarm can be attempted in place of any attack. This is specifically called out.
Tripping with a trip weapon, if you attempt a trip and fail by 10 or more, you are tripped instead. With a trip weapon you may drop the weapon to avoid falling prone instead.
With the weapon cord, he may drop a trip weapon on his first attack (only necessary if he fails to trip by 10 or more vs their CMD), retrieve it as a swift action (provided he hasn't used a swift action yet that round) and attempt another trip with his second attack. If that fails by 10 or more he can then drop the weapon again to avoid being prone, but he doesn't get to pick it back up as he has used his swift.
If he doesn't have the Improved trip feat, he provokes an AoO for each trip attempt. ::UNLESS:: the enemy has no weapons out (and doesn't have Unarmed strike or natural weapons), is flat-footed and doesn't have combat reflexes, or he is using a reach trip weapon vs an enemy without reach (I.E. tripping with a double chained kama from 10ft vs an enemy with a longsword).
Maneuver master monk is special in that it gets to use the other 4 combat maneuvers that are normally standard actions as part of a flurry.
Any character can make a trip, disarm, or sunder as one of their attacks in a full attack at anytime.