Bestow Curse - Saving Throws


Rules Questions


I confused myself thinking about it, but when would you make a saving throw for a spell?

Let's use Bestow Curse as an example (Since that's the one I used on my players). A monster used bestow curse on a player, and that player makes a saving throw to negate it, which fails. Afterwards, does that player make a saving throw on his turn to remove it, or is the curse only removable with a remove curse spell (or maybe with the creature's death?)?

Does a saving throw - negate mean the same as curing?


The target gets one save. If they fail the curse is on them until it is removed by an appropriate spell. You make the save when the spell is cast on you, and whenever the spell tells you to make a save.


A spell will tell you if they get multiple attempts to save or end the spell early. Some do, some don't. Some have a duration of the effect and some say "permanent." Bestow Curse offers one chance to avoid it (Will Negates) or you suffer the effect permanently (barring break enchantment, limited wish, miracle, remove curse, or wish getting cast on the cursed party).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bestow Curse - Saving Throws All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.