Is there a way to have a Wayfinder enchanted with the improved Light Spells?


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge 1/5

Is there a way to have a Wayfinder enchanted with the improved Light Spells? I’m annoyed with Darkness and Greater Darkness spells and all that other nonsense. So I wanted to know if there’s a way to have an existing Wayfinder with the most ubber light spell, so that when you pop it open it will negate Dark effects? And would you have to pay for an entire new spell, every time you wanted a better one or would you just have to pay the difference, like going from a +1 weapon to a +2 weapon?

5/5 *

Would a dayfinder suit your needs? You can upgrade a Wayfinder into a dayfinder with 10PP. It will cast daylight 1/day instead of light.

Details in the Pathfinder Society Field Guide p63.

Quote:
Dayfinder (10 PP): Similar to a normal wayfinder in all external ways, this rare form of wayfinder differs in the potency of its light-emitting abilities. Once per day, the light generated by an active dayfinder replicates a daylight spell for a duration of 1 minute. These powerful tools against darkness are granted to experienced Pathfinders by generous venture-captains, and may only be purchased on the black market within the Society itself, and even then only by exchanging favors—never for gold.

Grand Lodge 1/5

I just got a Wayfinder of the Ten. (Don't know the name.) Its a nice toy that gives me +2 bonus to diplomacy with all Pathfinders, since its stamped with the seal of the Decemvirate. Now I'd like it to do more for me and I've heard there are Super Awesome Total Darkness spells and I'd like something to counter those suckers. 1/day is nice but isn't good enough against creatures that constantly cast uber Darkness spells and then stab you in the back.

I'd like something that will shine bright in the darkest corners of Golarion and give me a chance to actually see what I'm fighting.

5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Central & West

The trick-of-the-now is to get someone to cast a Heightened Continual Flame to at least 4th level on an item of yours. As long as it's cast higher than third level, it should take care of 3rd or lower when you pull it out.

(Note: Be sure to note caster level when getting this done, because some monsters with Darkness at will also have Dispel Magic at will.)


CRobledo wrote:

Would a dayfinder suit your needs? You can upgrade a Wayfinder into a dayfinder with 10PP. It will cast daylight 1/day instead of light.

Details in the Pathfinder Society Field Guide p63.

Quote:
Dayfinder (10 PP): Similar to a normal wayfinder in all external ways, this rare form of wayfinder differs in the potency of its light-emitting abilities. Once per day, the light generated by an active dayfinder replicates a daylight spell for a duration of 1 minute. These powerful tools against darkness are granted to experienced Pathfinders by generous venture-captains, and may only be purchased on the black market within the Society itself, and even then only by exchanging favors—never for gold.

That’s something I wouldn’t mind having, but 10 PP is a bit too steep for me, at least right now. I need to save my PP, I will be heading off to Bonekeep soon enough.

Grand Lodge

Eric Saxon wrote:

I just got a Wayfinder of the Ten. (Don't know the name.) Its a nice toy that gives me +2 bonus to diplomacy with all Pathfinders, since its stamped with the seal of the Decemvirate. Now I'd like it to do more for me and I've heard there are Super Awesome Total Darkness spells and I'd like something to counter those suckers. 1/day is nice but isn't good enough against creatures that constantly cast uber Darkness spells and then stab you in the back.

I'd like something that will shine bright in the darkest corners of Golarion and give me a chance to actually see what I'm fighting.

Dayfinder mentioned above is your only option in PFS. Elsewhere, ask your GM.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Problem for me is that I can already cast daylight as an Aasimar ability. But casting it only made the BBEG re-cast his Darkness spell and canceled my Daylight. I checked later on and his was only a lvl. 2 Darkness spell, I believe but it knocked my Daylight out, which I read was a lvl. 3 spell.

Grand Lodge 1/5

David Montgomery wrote:

The trick-of-the-now is to get someone to cast a Heightened Continual Flame to at least 4th level on an item of yours. As long as it's cast higher than third level, it should take care of 3rd or lower when you pull it out.

(Note: Be sure to note caster level when getting this done, because some monsters with Darkness at will also have Dispel Magic at will.)

Heightened Continual Flame you say, I may just do that.

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Eric Saxon wrote:
Problem for me is that I can already cast daylight as an Aasimar ability. But casting it only made the BBEG re-cast his Darkness spell and canceled my Daylight. I checked later on and his was only a lvl. 2 Darkness spell, I believe but it knocked my Daylight out, which I read was a lvl. 3 spell.

Then your GM needs to read up on the darkness/light rules. There's a couple of questions still awaiting FAQ treatment, but most of the basics have finally been ironed out, and a thorough and objective reading of the rules and FAQs will cover most basic issues.

The Exchange 5/5

Eric Saxon wrote:
Problem for me is that I can already cast daylight as an Aasimar ability. But casting it only made the BBEG re-cast his Darkness spell and canceled my Daylight. I checked later on and his was only a lvl. 2 Darkness spell, I believe but it knocked my Daylight out, which I read was a lvl. 3 spell.

realizing that this is a YMMV issue.

You are going to get a lot of table differences.

No, a 2nd level Darkness spell doesn't cancel an existing Daylight. Even if used to dispel it, it has a range of touch (as does the Daylight. Did the monster touch the object that had the Daylight spell on it?

ninja'd by the little green lizard guy!

Grand Lodge 1/5

Spoiler:
Not sure now if it was a 2nd level darkness. It was the Heresy of Man Pt. 1, tier 5-6 fight against the undead. If any of you can let me know what level that was, it would be appreciated for the purposes of this conversation. And so that I know if it should have canceled my Daylight out.

The Exchange 4/5 5/5

Please spoiler that if you read this within an hour Eric. That particular one should not have overridden your daylight, it is deeper darkness (the same level as daylight). Remember that in areas where a deeper darkess and daylight overlap, the prevailing light conditions take over (which for that scenario is normal darkness).

The Exchange 5/5

Eric Saxon wrote:

for what eric said:
Not sure now if it was a 2nd level darkness. It was the Heresy of Man Pt. 1, tier 5-6 fight against the undead. If any of you can let me know what level that was, it would be appreciated for the purposes of this conversation. And so that I know if it should have canceled my Daylight out.

If it was darkness your Aasimar could see in it anyway. Darkvision works thru darkness.

So most likely it was Deeper Darkness, which interacts strangly with daylight anyway... special rules.

But I'm guessing I'll be ninja'd again with better info than I can give.


nosig wrote:
Eric Saxon wrote:
Problem for me is that I can already cast daylight as an Aasimar ability. But casting it only made the BBEG re-cast his Darkness spell and canceled my Daylight. I checked later on and his was only a lvl. 2 Darkness spell, I believe but it knocked my Daylight out, which I read was a lvl. 3 spell.

realizing that this is a YMMV issue.

You are going to get a lot of table differences.

No, a 2nd level Darkness spell doesn't cancel an existing Daylight. Even if used to dispel it, it has a range of touch (as does the Daylight. Did the monster touch the object that had the Daylight spell on it?

Shouldn't be able to Dispel it anyway.

Quote:
Darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.

1/5

Remember they have touch the object that you targeted with your daylight spell to counter it. Light and darkness spells have a range of touch. There can be ten darkness spells in effect and one daylight spell will cancel them out. A monster can't just recast darkness or deeper darkness to negate your daylight.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Wish I knew that last night. Thanks all. And I spoilered my question, thanks for reminding me.

The Exchange 5/5

thejeff wrote:
nosig wrote:
Eric Saxon wrote:
Problem for me is that I can already cast daylight as an Aasimar ability. But casting it only made the BBEG re-cast his Darkness spell and canceled my Daylight. I checked later on and his was only a lvl. 2 Darkness spell, I believe but it knocked my Daylight out, which I read was a lvl. 3 spell.

realizing that this is a YMMV issue.

You are going to get a lot of table differences.

No, a 2nd level Darkness spell doesn't cancel an existing Daylight. Even if used to dispel it, it has a range of touch (as does the Daylight. Did the monster touch the object that had the Daylight spell on it?

Shouldn't be able to Dispel it anyway.

Quote:
Darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.

that's why I said it was a YMMV issue.

As Eric found out, and many of the rest of us have encountered, it depends on the judge... expect table variation. I hope one day "they" fix this, but I don't expect it soon.

Liberty's Edge 5/5

that scenario is Deeper Darkness, a 3rd level spell.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Andrew Christian wrote:
that scenario is Deeper Darkness, a 3rd level spell.
So is this still correct?
Quote:
A monster can't just recast... deeper darkness to negate your daylight.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Eric Saxon wrote:
Andrew Christian wrote:
that scenario is Deeper Darkness, a 3rd level spell.
So is this still correct?
Quote:
A monster can't just recast... deeper darkness to negate your daylight.

Unless he dispels it, using its touch range.

Quote:
Daylight brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.

A lot of people misunderstand the "counters or dispels" part of the spell description though. Thinking that it's automatic on contact, not just when cast as a Counterspell/Dispel attempt.

Grand Lodge 1/5

Ok, he cast deeper darkness on himself. I cast daylight on myself to counter it. Now he casts it again.

What is the light situation? Sorry, but this is really confusing, so I don't want to get it wrong.

Liberty's Edge 3/5

Eric Saxon wrote:

Ok, he cast deeper darkness on himself. I cast daylight on myself to counter it. Now he casts it again.

What is the light situation? Sorry, but this is really confusing, so I don't want to get it wrong.

If I am understanding the spell descriptions right, bringing the same level of light or darkness into an area where the opposite is in effect negates (NOT dispels) the other effect, cancelling it out so the light level is the same as it was before either spell/spell like ability was put into effect.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

But if the light level has gone back to normal conditions, and then another deeper darkness spell is cast, does that not turn the area dark?

Deeper Darkness negating the effects of Daylight - then another Deeper Darkness spell turning it dark.

Liberty's Edge 3/5

Mistwalker wrote:

But if the light level has gone back to normal conditions, and then another deeper darkness spell is cast, does that not turn the area dark?

Deeper Darkness negating the effects of Daylight - then another Deeper Darkness spell turning it dark.

Not as I interpret it. To change the level of light/darkness in the area, you would need to introduce a spell/spell like ability of higher level (or wait for the opposing spell/SLA to end).

Edited to add the following: In other words, the 'effects' of light or darkness spells do not 'stack' (e.g. 2 deeper darknesses don't eliminate the effects of daylight, only a higher level darkness spell/SLA would).

Grand Lodge 1/5

Good. That's what I'm going with.


Mistwalker wrote:

But if the light level has gone back to normal conditions, and then another deeper darkness spell is cast, does that not turn the area dark?

Deeper Darkness negating the effects of Daylight - then another Deeper Darkness spell turning it dark.

No. The spells are still in effect. Daylight negates its light effects and the darkness effect where the spells overlap. Any new Darkness spells would still be negated.

It's less clear what happens to lower level light spells or mundane light sources.

Looking more closely at the wording: It's possible to read it so that the negation of the Daylight spell means it wouldn't affect a new Darkness in the same area, but that leads to the weirdness that you could walk out, so that the AoE didn't overlap, then walk back in negating the "area of magical darkness" caused now by the two Darkness spells.

Sovereign Court 5/5

And then there is the whole only one light spell at a time thing. Certainly two bad guys could each cast a dd to get to the effect you were talking about above.


yes, there is a weird complication of separate rules for dispel/counterspell only, separate rules for Daylight specifically that doesn't care about spell level at all "Daylight brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.", and then the rules for light/dark spells in general. Sometimes it's better to just close your eyes. :-)


Todd Lower wrote:
And then there is the whole only one light spell at a time thing. Certainly two bad guys could each cast a dd to get to the effect you were talking about above.

Doesn't the "only one light spell at a time thing" only apply to the Light cantrip. Basically because it's spammable.

1/5

thejeff wrote:
Mistwalker wrote:

But if the light level has gone back to normal conditions, and then another deeper darkness spell is cast, does that not turn the area dark?

Deeper Darkness negating the effects of Daylight - then another Deeper Darkness spell turning it dark.

No. The spells are still in effect. Daylight negates its light effects and the darkness effect where the spells overlap. Any new Darkness spells would still be negated.

It's less clear what happens to lower level light spells or mundane light sources.

Looking more closely at the wording: It's possible to read it so that the negation of the Daylight spell means it wouldn't affect a new Darkness in the same area, but that leads to the weirdness that you could walk out, so that the AoE didn't overlap, then walk back in negating the "area of magical darkness" caused now by the two Darkness spells.

How is it possible to interpret it the way you suggest?

Daylight wrote:
Daylight brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.

An "area of magical darkness" doesn't specify one darkness spell. The "area of magical darkness" can have 2 darkness spells, they will both be negated. I like to think of it like stacking similar bonuses. Just as you wouldn't stack multiple competence bonuses, you wouldn't stack multiple light level changes, you apply the highest penalty/bonus.


Robert A Matthews wrote:
thejeff wrote:

Looking more closely at the wording: It's possible to read it so that the negation of the Daylight spell means it wouldn't affect a new Darkness in the same area, but that leads to the weirdness that you could walk out, so that the AoE didn't overlap, then walk back in negating the "area of magical darkness" caused now by the two Darkness spells.

How is it possible to interpret it the way you suggest?

Daylight wrote:
Daylight brought into an area of magical darkness (or vice versa) is temporarily negated, so that the otherwise prevailing light conditions exist in the overlapping areas of effect.
An "area of magical darkness" doesn't specify one darkness spell. The "area of magical darkness" can have 2 darkness spells, they will both be negated. I like to think of it like stacking similar bonuses. Just as you wouldn't stack multiple competence bonuses, you wouldn't stack multiple light level changes, you apply the highest penalty/bonus.

It's not how I would read it, but I can see the argument that once I bring Daylight into the area of a Darkness spell, both are negated where they overlap, so if a new Darkness spell is cast in that area it will work. The Daylight is already negated so it has no effect on the new spell. The new Darkness spell isn't brought into an area of Daylight, since the spell has already been negated in that area.

To be clear, I don't like this interpretation, nor do I think it's the most straightforward reading of the rules. I strongly doubt it's the intent.

It's definitely clear that Daylight brought into an area with 2 Darkness spells up would negate them both, so if you moved the Daylight out and back the effect would be different, which adds a level of complexity that I don't think is intended or a good idea.
It leads to the we

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Is there a way to have a Wayfinder enchanted with the improved Light Spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society