Spell storing weapon quality and Multi-use spells


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Hey guys!

So, I got to thinking (which is always dangerous) about optimizing a whip magus. One idea struck me: A spell storing whip containing the Frostbite spell.

spoiler:
SPELL STORING
Price +1 bonus; Aura strong evocation and varies; CL 12th; Weight —
A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance of having a spell stored in it already. This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons.

Frostbite has 1 use per caster level. Would a spell storing weapon be able to use all charges of the spell, or just poop out after one?

Second, if I'm using my whip that has frostbite in it, cast frostbite and then attack creatures would I be able to double peg them for two hits on frostbite?

Think about the AoO damage you could do... I'm pretty sure I'm right. What'd you think guys?

Lantern Lodge

To add to it, could I use a metamagic rod to cast a spell and store that metamagic version into the spell storing weapon?

O.o

Sovereign Court

Traditionally the answer to that question is no. Once you decide for the weapon to discharge it will empty itself out and that will be that. When a spell storing weapon uses its spell the weapon is actually the "caster" not the wielder. It's an unusual spell that didn't exist in the ages past where the spell storing weapon came from.

A Magus with a spell storing weapon could use their spell-strike ability and then let the stored version go as well in one round, that would be perfectly acceptable. It should also be fine accepting a meta-magic version of a spell so long as it's effective level is 3rd level or less though I have seen some GM's rule that the metamagic rod's ability remains used until the spell is discharged.

There isn't a hard rule about it anywhere specifically other then common sense and so I'd suspect you'll see some table variation.

Lantern Lodge

So, traditionally it's no. But what would it be now? I feel it would be like a over sized wand. Forget whips, spell storing would be awesome for any magus with frostbite or similar spells.

If the weapon IS the caster, would that not mean that the spell still has multiple uses, as the weapon is holding the charge and not the wielder? I'm pretty sure it would use the same CL and DC as the spell stored in it, correct?

Sovereign Court

You'll have to discuss it with you GM and see how your group would like to handle it.


You cannot normally use a metamagic feat/rod on a spell storing item as it is not actually cast until it releases from the item.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2kty3?Spell-Storing-Metamagic-Rods

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell storing weapon quality and Multi-use spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions