Elemental Earth Belt and Grapple


Rules Questions


Elemental Earth Belt wrote:
This belt grants its wearer a +4 enhancement bonus to Constitution, and the wearer is immune to effects that would push, pull, or forcefully move the wearer. This offers no protection from teleportation effects.

The belt does not make you immune to Grapple. However, if a Large creature grapples a Medium creature using Reach, the grappled must be moved to a square adjacent to the grappler:

Grapple wrote:
If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails).

If a creature wearing the Elemental Earth Belt is grappled by a creature that is not adjacent, are they moved? If not, does the grapple fail?

Shadow Lodge

I assume that the immunity to being forcibly moved would indeed protect a wearer from grapple attempts where the grappler is not adjacent to the wearer, because these would forcibly move the wearer. And the "no space available" line does suggest that if you can't move the opponent adjacent to you, the grapple fails.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elemental Earth Belt and Grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions