
![]() |

This is similar to my thread from January, but reversed.
I have a sorceress with the elemental (water) bloodline and a number of fire spells. She uses the bloodline to convert them to cold descriptor and damage.
I'm thinking of dipping into Witch with the Winter Witch archetype. Of note on this is the Ice Magic ability.
How does this affect the sorceress spells?
1. I can not add any fire spells to my witch spellbook (familiar, whatever), but can continue to learn fire spells as a sorceress, and cast them if I convert them to cold with the bloodline.
2. I can not learn fire spells in any class but can continue to cast the spells I already have if I convert them to cold with the bloodline.
3. I can not learn fire spells in any class and even converting them to cold with the bloodline won't allow me to cast them.
Now, to complicate things further, let's bring a Page of Spell Knowledge into the mix.
magical runes. It contains the knowledge of a single
arcane or divine spell (chosen by the creator when the
item is crafted). If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster
and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her
spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells
known. A page of spell knowledge is priced based on the
spell’s cleric or sorcerer/wizard spell level, unless the spell
doesn’t appear on either of those spell lists, in which case
it is based on the highest spell level as it appears on any
other spell list. For example, a spell that is on the 4th-level
inquisitor list and the 2nd-level paladin list is priced as a
4th-level spell.
So, you're not learning the spell, but you are casting it as if you knew it. Assuming you are using the bloodline to make it cold (I think you can still do this from the wording, but I'm not sure) can you use this to add more fire spells to your sorceress list, even with the witch limitations?

Yora |

It only says "cast spells", so reading very close as written, you get the bonus to all spells you cast regardless of class, but also can't learn or cast any fire spells, regardless of class.
A sorcerer can still "know" fire spells he already learned, but not cast them until turning them into cold spells, which he can cast without problem.
If you decide (or the GM of your game does), that it only applies to witch spells, then you will get both the bonus, and the restriction only for with spells, and neither of them for sorcerer spells.

MeatForTheGrinder |

I'd actually go with option 1 here, because it seems the coolest (winter witch humor), so rule of cool applies. Seriously, Fireball is a great spell. There is no reason why any character can't make a new spell based on that called Iceball that emulates it in every way but energy type, so why restrict the descriptor at the time you learn the spell? Just restrict casting of fire descriptor spells, and call it a day. My perspective is more RAI, than RAW, but if you need a RAW basis for this, the clause "She uses the bloodline to convert them to cold descriptor and damage." could be applied to say that the spell descriptor is converted for all spells she knows at all times that have an energy type, including when learning them, casting from spell completion items, spell trigger items. All the time.