Where do you go when you dismount?


Rules Questions


I read, searched, and researched, but I can't find anything official.

Where do I go when I dismount, and does it count as movement for the purposes of a 5-foot step?

Assume this takes place during initiative. When I'm riding my horse, I am undoubtedly in the same space as it.

When I dismount, do I end up in the same space until I move?
Does dismounting in the same space count as movement, disallowing myself a 5-foot step?

Do I dismount into an space adjacent to the 2x2 area?
Does dismounting into an adjacent space count as movement, disallowing myself a 5-foot step?

Grand Lodge

You dismount to a space adjacent to your horse. If you don't have a free space, then you're squeezing with someone or something.


I don't think there are official rules, but given how difficult it is to dismount from a horse, I'd say it counts as movement, just like climbing down a wall would.

I agree that you would end up adjacent to your horse, or squeezed if that weren't an option.

Grand Lodge

Dismounting is a move action, If you succeed at a Ride Check DC 20, I think you can do it as a free action, but you must have a move action available to attempt it.


LazarX:
That was always my assumption, but the rules don't specify.

Orfamay:
I think climb checks would be a suitable substitute for ride checks. Either way, that's all house rule. There's nothing I can find that says mounting/dismounting uses movement. It just takes a move action if you can't make a DC 20 Ride Check.

Squeezing rules say "A creature can squeeze past a creature while moving but it can't end its movement in an occupied square." Considering dismounting uses a move action, but isn't explicitly movement, you could end up with dismounting being your final action in a turn. That's a paradox.

This kind of leads to a funny version of the villager railgun. if you have someone with a +19 bonus to ride, and a row of horses lined up with 1 space in between them, the rider could use free actions to mount/dismount across a long distance using free actions.


Actually, the rules do specify.

Quote:

Mount/Dismount a Steed

Mounting or dismounting a steed requires a move action.

Fast Mount or Dismount: You can mount or dismount as a free action with a DC 20 Ride check. If you fail the check, mounting or dismounting is a move action instead. You can't attempt a fast mount or fast dismount unless you can perform the mount or dismount as a move action in the current round.

As to the "Okay, I dismount. Now I mount again. Now I dismount. Now I'm 40 feet from where I started!" idea, free actions are not technically unlimited. There is no 'hard' limit on them, but their description does clearly state that a GM can cap free actions at a reasonable point.

From a table-rule perspective, I allow a number of free actions equal to a character's DEX+INT mod, or initiative mod (whichever is higher).


You know, you could actually use the free action railgun in a much more limited sense (two+ horses) to get full attack + move off in a normal combat. Neat, if ridiculous, idea.


I'd go with this: "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer."

So, you dismount, you now cannot legally share the mounts space, so you get shunted 5' over to not share squares.

As a GM, I would say no, you can't line up horses 5' apart and hop/shunt across them, as you would have to spend a move action to move the 5' into a shared square of the 2nd horse before making your mount action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Where do you go when you dismount? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions