Combat Questions: Charge / Grab and Attacks of Opportunity,


Rules Questions


I'm GM'ing this game where a few questions have already come up.

1)Can a creature use it's grab ability on an AoO (like an Owlbear)?
(Since grab is performed as a free action it seems to me that free actions happen on one's turn - with a few exceptions, like talking.)

2) If a character charges a creature with reach, the creature should get an AoO if it has already acted in the round, correct?
(On Table 8-2 in the CRB it says it does not provoke, but the movement through threatened squares makes me it is possible.)

For grab it says:
...creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity.

On an Attack of Opportunity:
An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked,immediately resolve the attack of opportunity,then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

Free Action:
In a normal round, you can perform a standard action and a move action, or you can perform a full-round action. You can also perform one swift action and one or more free actions. You can always take a move action in place of a standard action.
-- Also --
...You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.

Shadow Lodge

1) Yes. It may make a free grab attempt on a successful hit.

2) Yes. The full round action "charge" does NOT provoke. The movement out of a threatened square DOES provoke.


The evil teddy bear is correct.


Just to clarify point 2, it does not matter if the creature has acted in the round or not. You can always take your AoO before your turn in any round, or after, with the only exception being when you are flat-footed during the first round of combat before your turn (also during the surprise round if you haven't acted yet).

Or to put that another way, once you take your first action in a combat, you are no longer flat-footed so from that time until the end of this combat, you get one AoO every round and can take it anytime anything provokes an AoO, before or after your turn each round.


Thanks DM Blake, I was indeed referring to being flat-footed during the first round of combat before your turn


Let's say:

Creature 1 goes to charge creature 3. Creature 2 has grab and can perform an AoO on creature 1. Creature 2 successfully hits creature 1 and then attempts to grapple as a free action. It succeeds with its grapple attempt. Now, creature 1 cannot complete its charge on creature 3.

Is that correct?


Correct. And since charge is a full round action, that would be all creature 1 could do for the round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Combat Questions: Charge / Grab and Attacks of Opportunity, All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions