Flurry BAB and feat prerequisites


Rules Questions


I'm about to build a PFS legal monk and am trying to clarify if something is actually a house rule we've been using or some obscure ruling:

Can a monk use their Flurry BAB to qualify for feats? (ie. take Power Attack first level as opposed to waiting for third)


By RAW, they cannot. I would allow it in a heartbeat (actually, I'd just give them actual full BAB), but PFS will be a very frustrating, inhospitable place for your monk, unfortunately.


No.

"For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus."


Pretty sure the answer is no.


By the book, probably not. It's usually waved however, considering the prowess a monk should have.


Tarantula wrote:

No.

"For the purpose of these attacks, the monk's base attack bonus from his monk class levels is equal to his monk level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus."

Doh, Right there in the ability, don't know how I missed it.

Thanks for the help.


However, once you do have the feat, you can use the higher BAB to qualify for better effects if applicable. For example, when using Flurry, you'll calculate your Power Attack damage bonus and attack penalty based on your Flurry BAB.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flurry BAB and feat prerequisites All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.