DC for dispel as counterspell


Rules Questions


Have a quick question. What is the DC for Dispel Magic as a counterspell? I did a search for this and I found one person saying: "If you do not know/recognize the spell (via spellcraft), you make a dispel check as usual against the spell's caster. So this check would be 11+spell's caster's caster level. Example: 10th level wizard casts fireball, then the DC is 11+10=21. If your own caster level is 5, you have to roll a 16 to successfully counter it."

I just wanted some validation because I can't find that in the core book and to me it just feels like the spell level should be in the DC...

As I'm writing this it just pops into my head, if you don't need to identify the spell for dispel then I guess you wouldn't know the level, ha. Still is that correct? Dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) vs 11 + caster’s level?

Oh and if so, where do you find that info, the 11 + caster level?

Thanks guys, you all are great help on these forums and your knowledge is invaluable.


That is the correct calculation (11+caster level) - no spell level factor. It's in the description of the dispel magic spell.

The spell level *is* in the DC for identifying the spell (for countering w/out dispel magic).


Thanks! I seem to have been just overlooking that part of the description of dispel magic because I thought it was only for removing spells and not countering them.

Move along, nothing to see here folks. :P


Goblin Berserker wrote:
Oh and if so, where do you find that info, the 11 + caster level?

Your GM will know what the DC is, and he will tell you if you succeed or fail on your dispel check. The "dispeller" most likely won't know the DC, although they can make an educated guess.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DC for dispel as counterspell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions