Negative affinity and negative energy attacks


Rules Questions


Sceaduinar, as an example, have Negative Affinity. Alive, but treated as undead for negative energy, specifically "Positive energy harms it, Negative energy heals it". This creature also issues negative energy on a melee touch attack. So, if one Seceaduinar strikes another wounded one (or any other creature with negative energy affinity or an undead) it would heal it, right?

If you say no, because the "touch attack" is an attack, then Inflict Wounds spells should not heal the Sceaduinar(or any other creature with negative energy affinity or an undead), for those are also touch attacks that deliver negative energy.

Opinions?????

Liberty's Edge

It depends how the negative energy ability is worded. For example, you can both heal undead or harm living with Inflict spells. But when channeling negative energy, you have to choose whether you will be healing undead or harming the living.

Concerning Sceaduinar, it is specifically not possible : "This energy does not heal creatures healed by inflict spells".


All negative energy does not heal undead or similar creatures. Only those effects that specify that the negative energy will heal them will do so. (Similarly, positive energy doesn't always heal living creatures - only when it specifically says it does.)

IF all negative energy always healed undead and similar creatures, there would be no reason to specifically call out that ability in Inflict spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Negative affinity and negative energy attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions