Belryan
|
I've started a druid, and so I am a little confused about what I should be rolling with the creatures I summon.
An eagle, for instance, has
Melee: 2 talons +3 (1d4), bite +3 (1d4)
Would I roll 1d20 for the "2 talons" attack, and another d20 for the bite attack, and thus score 2d4 damage if both hit?
Or would I roll 2d20 for the two talons, and one more d20 for the bite, for a total of 3d4 damage if all three hit? (Thus 3d4+6 with Augmented Summoning).
Second part: I assume that I can summon an eagle directly on top of someone so that it can immediately do a full-attack action. Am I correct in assuming that I'd then need to make a Hover check (DC 15)?
If not, could it land in that square?
Then, on the next round (A trait gives me a once-per-day ability to summon something at Caster Level +2, thus at level 1 a Summoned Nature's Ally can stick around for three rounds), if the enemy has moved 5 feet, can the eagle make the equivalent of a "five foot step" and do another full attack? Would that five foot step need to be only if it was on the ground, or could it do that if it was hovering, and then make another DC15 fly check to continue hovering?
Thanks!
| Are |
1. It's two separate talon attacks, so you'll roll a total of 3 d20's if the eagle makes a full-attack.
2. Yes, you could summon it above an enemy, yes, it can immediately act, and yes, it would need to make a hover check to stay airborne if it doesn't move.
Failing the hover check would mean it should spend a move action to move. It could not land in the enemy's square, and it would likely provoke attacks of opportunity for moving away from a threatened square.
If you don't perform the hover check until you no longer have move actions available, I think the most sensible thing to do would be the "plummet-to-the-ground" part of the fly rules (even though that's supposed to only be if you fail by 5 or more). Personally, I would require the hover check to be made at the start of the eagle's turn, to avoid any such weird consequences of failure.
3. Yes, it could perform a flying 5-ft step. Since the eagle has in this case moved from its starting position, it would instead use the DC 10 fly check.
Belryan
|
You're right, I was thinking the Eagle was Tiny (and thus could share a square), not Small. Which also means I wouldn't necessarily need to summon it on top of someone/thing, -and- it could provide flanking. Even better.
It has a 10ft speed on land, so it could make a full attack from the ground.. which seems a bit silly, but technically true.