Reflex saves that are Constitution based?


Rules Questions


Ice Drake Freezing Mist Breath (Su)
A frost drake can, as a standard action, spit a ball of liquid that bursts into a cloud of freezing mist. This attack has a range of 60 feet and deals 7d6 points of cold damage (DC 18 Reflex half) to all creatures in a 20-foot-radius spread. The mist cakes all surfaces in the area with a sheet of slippery ice that turns the area into difficult terrain for 2d4 rounds, after which the ice cracks or melts enough to revert to the normal terrain features in the area. Once a frost drake has used its freezing mist breath, it cannot do so again for 1d6 rounds. The Reflex save is Constitution-based.

Does this mean a player rolls a reflex save using their Fort save or just their Constitution ability score modifier (if any)?

What are some other examples of this type of saving throw?


The dc for the save is based on the drake's constitution, like a wizard's sell dc's are based off his int.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The player rolls his normal Reflex save.

That text should have said "The DC is Constitution-based", as other such abilities do. The intent of the text is to inform the GM which of the creature's ability scores were used to determine the DC for the ability, in case the GM wants to alter the creature or give it some sort of ability-boosting item.


You use your reflex if its used on you. The save DC is half the drakes level plus its con. If I remember right.


Quote:
The Reflex save is Constitution-based.

This indicates that the save DC is based on the creature's Constitution. If the creature's Constitution increased, such as via bear's endurance, then the save DC would increase as well.


Thanks folks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reflex saves that are Constitution based? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions