Wand Wielder Magus - where is the wand ?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Magus arcana Wand Wielder states "The magus can activate a wand or staff in place of casting a spell when using spell combat."

But Spell Combat states : "To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand."

If one hand is free and the other hand wields a light or one-handed weapon, where is the wand that the Magus activates ?


In the off hand. He uses that hand to cast the spell normally, so he just uses the wand or staff in that hand.


when I first saw the title, I wanted to ask "do you really want to know?"

Addressing the actual post, since you need a free hand to cast spells anyway, my guess is that the intent of the rule is for you to wield a wand/staff in one hand and weapon in the other. Wands/staves are spell trigger items, so having the spell on your list is all that is required for them to work, i.e. you don't need the other hand free.

Sczarni

Mine is stored in my weapon, via Weaponwand. That way I can cast one round, zap the next, and lather, rinse, repeat.


Note that it says that he can "activate a wand\staff in place of casting a spell"; the free hand is used for casting a spell, so what it's really saying is that "The magus can wave a wand\staff in his off hand in place of casting a spell when using spell combat."

As Nefreet mentioned, anytime I run a magus that takes Wand Wielder, I almost invariably memorize Weaponwand.


Or be a staff magus, your weapon is your staff and vice versa.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wand Wielder Magus - where is the wand ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions