Questions about general cleric spells


Rules Questions


Hola everyone,

just got into pathfinder about a month ago and it seems bloody awesome, but kind of confusing at times. Right now I'm playing a level 2 NG cleric, but I'm still kind of unsure about my spell usage. Right now my spells go something like this:

Orisons (level 0) choose three spells, use them infinitely through the day.
Level 1 spells: 1+1 (for domain) and then + 1 for high wisdom modifier (17 I think)
Level 2: The cleric spell chart has a "-" for level 2 character's access to level two spells, so does that mean I get zero level two spells? Or one from my wisdom score?
Level 3: According to the exp chart I should be level three by next session, which brings up the same thing here. Do I not use any spells from here until I'm level 4?

Tl;dr I'm confused about cleric spells. Am I always using spells one level lower than my character?

Thanks guys


I think your confusion is the difference in 'level'.
At Cleric Level 1 you get access to the following:
Three Level 0 spells (Spell Level 0)
One + Bonus + Domain Level 1 spells (Spell Level 1)

Assuming a Wisdom of 17 that gives you 3 level 0 spells and 2 level 1 spells per day. Additionally you get one level 1 domain spell per day.

At Cleric Level 2 you get access to the following:
Four Level 0 spells (Spell Level 0)
Two + Bonus + Domain Level 1 spells (Spell Level 1)

Assuming a Wisdom of 17 that gives you 4 level 0 spells and 3 level 1 spells per day. Additionally you get one level 1 domain spell per day.

Finally,
At Cleric Level 3 you get access to the following:
Four Level 0 spells (Spell Level 0)
Two + Bonus + Domain Level 1 spells (Spell Level 1)
One + Bonus + Domain Level 2 spells (Spell Level 2)

Assuming a Wisdom of 17 that gives you 4 level 0 spells, 3 level 1 spells, and 2 level 2 spells per day. Additionally you get one level 1 domain spell and one level 2 domain spell per day.

Summary:
You get what the chart states. Bonus spells due to high ability scores are not able to be used until you have that spell level available (the chart has a number rather than a dash at your current level).

- Gauss


Thanks for taking the time to walk me through it. The books sometimes read like accounting homework, so having someone else explain it is nice. :)


NP, if you have any further questions feel free to ask. :)

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about general cleric spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions