Grappling and Alchemist Extracts


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was wondering if an Alchemist can use his extracts while grappled.

A wizard can cast spells as long as the spell dont require somatic or components that you need to have in hand in order to cast a spell.

So I do think that since the extract is an item require to use or "cast" then he would also need the extract in hand to be able to use them. So the extract is basically a component need it right?


I hit FAQ.

I think you would need to have it in hand and if it were, you could drink it basically without fail, since there is no concentration involved with drinking extracts.


"An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion[.]"

So, can you drink a potion while grappled? I've never seen any DM rule that you need two hands to drink a potion. So, it should be fair game.


Mixing an extract takes 1 minute of work—most alchemists prepare many extracts at the start of the day or just before going on an adventure, but it’s not uncommon for an alchemist to keep some (or even all) of his daily extract slots open so that he can prepare extracts in the field as needed.

Provided they have them premade can access them then yes, but they wouldn't be able pick one off their list and "cast it".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling and Alchemist Extracts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions