Quickdraw shield rules clarification


Rules Questions


A new shield was introduced in the Ultimate Equipment Guide and I was hoping to get some opinions on how it operates. Here is the description.

This light steel shield is specially crafted with a series of straps to allow a character proficient in shields to ready or stow it on her back quickly and easily. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a swift action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw a light or one- handed weapon with one hand and a quickdraw shield with the other in the time it would normally take you to draw one weapon. If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.

Based on my understanding of this, if a character has the quickdraw feat they can don or put away this shield as a free action (as opposed to a swift action). This means that you can put away and don this shield in the same round.

So, for example, can a character start a round holding this shield and a one handed-weapon, quickdraw put away the shield, quickdraw draw a weapon, full attack with two weapons, quickdraw put away the weapon and quickdraw don the shield so that for the rest of the round they have the shield bonus?


You aren't able to speed up the time to sheathe a weapon so you either have to drop one or take a move to stow it. However you can use this and a one handed weapon to get 1.5 str on attacks and a +3/-1 power attack return for your attacks and then quick draw the shield for more AC during the rest if the round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quickdraw shield rules clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions