Flanking Foil and Out Flank, does a crit while flanking still provoke?


Advice


If you're flanking somebody with outflank and they're just hit you, and now you've crit them does that still provoke an aoo from your ally? It looks like it does, but I was hoping for a second opinion :)

Thanks!

Flanking Foil:
Whenever you hit an adjacent opponent with a melee attack, until the start of your next turn, that opponent does not gain any flanking bonus on attack rolls while it is flanking you and cannot deal sneak attack damage to you. It can still provide a flank for its allies.
Out Flank:
Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat are flanking the same creature, your flanking bonus on attack rolls increases to +4. In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of opportunity from your ally.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't see why not. You are still flanking (though you don't get the attack roll bonus), and you still meet the conditions of Outflank.


Lets rephrase that :

When flanking an opponent with an ally, with you having the outflank feat and your opponent having the flanking foil feat, if the opponent just hit you and you crit the opponent does your ally still get an AoO?

RAW yes, RAI yes. From RAW point of view the flanking foil says nothing about them so the normal out flank rules apply, from a RAI point of view you still provide the normal flanking advantages to your ally and the AoO is simply an additional advantage.

The more interesting situation is where your ally has outflank and crits him after you got hit ... in that case RAW you still get the AoO, because flanking foil only overrides the flanking bonus and sneak attack opportunity, but RAI is that you don't benefit from flanking advantages and the writer of the flanking foil feat simply didn't take into account there might be more than the core ones. RAW and RAI diverge.


That's an interesting point Pinky. Sometimes the RAW is clear but the RAI can be pretty murky. E.g. it's possible your RAI interpretation is right but on the other hand the designer stated you loose the flanking bonus but sill provide a flank for allies which could be used to argue that RAI is equal to RAW.

One of my DM's prefers RAI which sure makes certain rules interactions a headache to resolve :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Flanking Foil and Out Flank, does a crit while flanking still provoke? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice
What now?