Adding magic to items


Rules Questions


DO items have a limit to the number of abilities they have, Like a great sword having +2, 1-per day haste cast and possible 1-per day enlarge


It cannot go above a +10 total enhancement, and no higher than an actual +5 on the weapon itself. As for special abilities the only weapons I know that have them are specific named weapons, so having anything like that on a different weapon is strictly GM fiat, so ask your GM :)


Not really, though personally, I hold to these along with the guidelines for creating magic items :

1) Anything over 200k is an artifact and can not be made by the usual methods.

2) practicality, only the most expensive property is normal price the other ones are 50% extra, a sword +2 has a caster level of 6 and every other ability on that sword should have that caster level too, unless they require a higher caster level in which case you have to pay extra for all the powers.

3) I personally also do not go for lowest possible caster levels when designing items, functionality has to be reflected in price and power/caster level of the item.


So if i'm understanding correctly, the total enhancements is determined by the level of the caster enhancing it??? So a fourth level caster can only enhance the item with only four enhancements?????


T'Hulk wrote:
So if i'm understanding correctly, the total enhancements is determined by the level of the caster enhancing it??? So a fourth level caster can only enhance the item with only four enhancements?????

No. There is no real limit on the total number of enhancements an item can have. A 3rd level caster with Craft Wondrous Item can put a dozen different abilities on a wondrous item, and could even put more if they wanted to (assuming they could afford the cost.)

Though magical armor, shields, and weapons do have somewhat of a limit. They can't have an effective enhancement bonus of more then +10. (And can't exceed an actual enhancement bonus of +5.)


ok that makes sense


What would it cost my party wizard to turn my +1 greatsword to +2 and add speed enhancment????


T'Hulk wrote:
What would it cost my party wizard to turn my +1 greatsword to +2 and add speed enhancment????

A +1 greatsword costs 2,350gp.

A +2 greatsword of Speed counts as a +5 weapon for pricing purposes (the +2 of the weapon, and the Speed enhancement counts as a +3), which is 50,350gp.

So to upgrade a +1 greatsword to a +2 greatsword of speed costs 50350gp-2350gp=48,000gp. 48,000gp if you have someone else make it, or 24,000gp if you (or the party caster) make it.

Sovereign Court

Note your wizard would need to be at least 6th level to create the +2 enhancement bonus... though the text says he'd have to be 7th CL to make the speed enhancement.

--Vrocking Burst


King of Vrock, the wizard does not need to be level 6. The FAQ cleared that question up. He can be level 5 and make a +2 enhanced weapon by adding +5 to the DC. Additionally, there is no level requirement for the speed enhancement.

- Gauss

Sovereign Court

Well that's a fairly recent change... good to know!


Well, it isn't a change, just a resolution of a long debate on whether or not you could do that. It changed nothing for me. :)

- Gauss

Sovereign Court

Right but we are in the Rules forum... and it is technically a change or at least a clarification of the RAW.


King of Vrock, for it to be a change it would have to be contrary to what RAW has said all this time. From my own and many other's pov it is exactly what we have been stating the rule was by RAW. Thus, no change.

Is it a confirmation of one side? Yes. Does that make it a clarification? Perhaps. But it is not a change of the RAW.

RAW: As a prerequisite you must have a caster level equal to or exceeding the enhancement bonus*3 to craft magic weapons and armor.

RAW: You can ignore any prerequisites except for the relevant crafting feat (or the spell in the cast of spell-trigger, spell completion, or potions).

The debate revolved around whether the magic weapon and armor prerequisite fell under the larger rule that allowed you to ignore prerequisites. Nowhere was it stated that it was exempt from the clause allowing you to ignore prerequisites. Therefore, you may ignore that prerequisite by adding +5 to the DC.
This has now been confirmed.

The CL vs Caster Level section was clarified a long time ago. CL is not the same thing as a Caster Level prerequisite. Prerequisites are listed after the Craft feat and are spelled out rather than abbreviated.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adding magic to items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions