holding a charge


Rules Questions


So lets say I am a one trick pony magus. The day before I plan on fighting can I cast shocking grasp. Then the next day get all my spell slots back, and then in the first fight blast that first guy from my shocking grasp from yesterday?

Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.


There is also a clause that touching anything even accidentally disharges the spell. I hope you didn't plan on getting much rest overnight.

- Gauss


Where is this clause?


If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

Linky

Which could make the next morning interesting, particularly if your brain doesn't turn on until after you've gone to the bathroom...


CRB p185-186 wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.

- Gauss


Awesome thanks. Possible, but impracticle.

I was looking on the magic section and I could not find that.


Keep Watch spell. Just stand up all night and be sure not to touch anything important. Oh, and don't prepare spells in the morning because you might blow up your book.


MrSin wrote:
Oh, and don't prepare spells in the morning because you might blow up your book.

Have your familiar turn the pages for you.


Familiar and companions can't do everything for you. "Guys, can you help me take off my shoes, or get my bed ready? I don't want to waste this Shocking Grasp!" I mean... I guess they can, if you can convince them its worth it.


"No, I will most certainly not 'assist you with privy duties'!"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / holding a charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions