Question on Trample (Bison) - Celestial Template - can it Smite on a Trample?


Advice


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Or does smiting only work on real attacks and not with the Trample ability?

Liberty's Edge

I'm pretty sure Smiting only affects actions that require an attack roll. The Trample ability does not use an attack roll, so you can't add your Charisma modifier to it. I guess you're asking about the damage, though.

Here's the ability, word for word:

Paladin wrote:
If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Cha bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess.

Emphasis mine.

It says "all damage rolls". I suppose if you want the RAW here, it applies to any roll that the celestial creature makes in order to determine the damage it deals. So it would apply to your Trample ability, as well as to any spells the paladin cast, making a Sorcadin an interesting idea. (One level of sorcerer, the rest paladin, grab a wand of fireball with CL 10 and go nuts).


Yes. I have also seen the nasty weird words smite combo. The player was throwing out 8 attacks that did 1d8+15.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Huh, that's definitely an interesting one. My gut response would be no, but it's definitely worth a FAQ click.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Question on Trample (Bison) - Celestial Template - can it Smite on a Trample? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice