Magus' improved spell recall. Rounded up or down?


Rules Questions


Hello everyone!

Spoiler:
At 11th level, the magus’s ability to recall spells using his arcane pool becomes more efficient. Whenever he recalls a spell with spell recall, he expends a number of points from his arcane pool equal to 1/2 the spell’s level (minimum 1).

Does this arcane pool cost round up or down? For example, if I want to recall Fireball, a 3rd-level spell. Do I spend 1 arcane pool point or 2?

Liberty's Edge

Good question. Officially in Pathfinder you always round down when you round a number, so in theory it round down.

Or you could keep the fractions, and have fireball cost 1.5.

Probably the second is more balanced as a cost of 1, 1, 1, 2, 2, 3 seem a bit strange.


Keeping the fractions seems like a good option. Perhaps then I can recall a 1st level spell for 0.5 points? DM approval required.

Rounding up seems to be what would be expected, making the costs 1,1,2,2,3,3...


Any other thoughts on the matter?


The text "equal to 1/2 X, minimum 1" is standard pathfinder boilerplate. Its use indicates that the designer didn't forget about the standard "always round down" rule, and intended 1, 1, 1, 2, 2, 3...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus' improved spell recall. Rounded up or down? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions