Does Robe of Arcane Heritage affect a non-sorcerer Dragon Disciple?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

As the title says...
I have a player who is a bard and for various reasons is most likely going to be taking the Dragon Disciple prestige class.

We need to know whether this item would work have any effect on the player.


He has an effective Sorcerer level, which is what the Robe raises, is it not?


That is what I am thinking, but I just didn't feel it was entirely clear so just looking for some feedback about what people think, if anyone else has had this come up, etc

:)


Dragon Disciple 1 is effectively a Sorcerer Draconic Bloodline 1 for most purposes except spells (unless you actually have Sorcerer Draconic Bloodline levels). I would say that before prestige classing, that the Robe of Arcane Heritage would have no effect on the Bard, but would become imperative to the Dragon Disciple. Note that it does not allow you powers before you would actually get them, but amplifies the powers you gain.


A related question would be powers gained from Eldritch Heritage. Neither case 'really' has the bloodline,
but they do gain the bloodline powers and have an effective sorceror level for purposes of the bloodline.


Dragon Disciple ACTUALLY has Draconic Bloodline. It's basically a prestige class built specifically for a Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Is there some slang meaning of 'actually' that I'm not aware of?

You either actually have the Bloodline thru your Sorceror level(s), or DD's Blood of Dragons gives you the Bloodline Powers of the Bloodline, not the Bloodline itself - you don't get the Arcana, Class Skill, Bonus Spells, or otherwise count as having the Bloodline, just the Powers. The wording is pretty much exactly the same as Eldritch Heritage, which gives you Bloodline Powers of the Bloodline, but you don't get the Bloodline itself.

Let's break down what the Robe actually does:

Quote:
The stitching changes to match the sorcerer bloodline of the wearer.

This wouldn't seem to technically work for Eldritch Heritage or non-Sorceror Dragon Disciples.

Quote:
The wearer treats her sorcerer level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of determining what bloodline powers she can use and their effects.

This isn't referencing any actual sorceror bloodline, so would seem to work fine for both options, and this is one that actually matters :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Robe of Arcane Heritage affect a non-sorcerer Dragon Disciple? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions