Weapon Sizing


Rules Questions


I've browsed other thread and get the point of a small creature using a medium sized weapon occurs a -2 penalty on attack rolls. Same goes for a medium creature wielding a large sized weapon. What about a Medium creature using a Small sized weapon?

Build idea specific, Medium Human Fighter using a small sized Earthbreaker... Would it be a one-handed weapon? Would it incur the same size penalty?


It would be one handed and it would incur a size penalty. Would deal D8 damage so theres no reason to use it really when you could use a warhammer for no penalty.


A small sized earthbreaker deals 1d10 damage. Medium sized deals 2d6.


Ahh, so it does. Still takes the penalty. Can I ask what you have to gain? Becuase concept wise any weapon can be fluffed as whatever and D10 is only one avarage damage more than a D8.


Just a thought. Probably going with the warhammer.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A medium sized character can wield a small sized two-handed reach weapon (longspear or other polearm, usually) in one hand and still gain the reach property. Other than that, there's not a lot of reason for a medium character to choose a small version of a weapon rather than use the medium sized equivalent (you might make a case for a musket master gunslinger with a small double hackbut).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weapon Sizing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions