Charge Through, Improved Overrun, and Allies


Rules Questions


If I'm trying to charge an enemy, and there's an ally in the way, is it possible for me to use Charge Through to overrun the ally, and give them the option to avoid the overrun, or does the fact that Improved Overrun states:

prd wrote:


Targets of your overrun attempt may not chose to avoid you.

eschew them the choice to do so?


I would say they get overran man...in Charge Through it actually says "If you successfully overrun that creature, you complete the charge"

So if you friends in the way...hes getting ran down, thats the way I see the RAW anyways

BUT...a nice GM could rule differently, maybe give your buddy a reflex save or something, but that's all houserule


Yes, the definition of Ally or Enemy is mutable.

Note: it is completely in the rules for overrun for the ally to sidestep you.

CRB p201 Overrun wrote:
When you attempt to overrun a target, it can choose to avoid you, allowing you to pass through its square without requiring an attack.

Since you are NOT forced to use a feat then you do not have to use Improved Overrun and thus your ally can sidestep you normally.

- Gauss


I did not know that? Where is it that you don't have to use a feat like that...as in the improved maneuver feats specifically? My next character just got situationally better if so


Well, aside from the Devs saying it (they have) it is kinda common sense. Why would you be FORCED to use a feat?

- Gauss


Don't gotta be mean eh...I haven't read anywhere saying that you could turn on and off feats besides the ones that actually have the option

Could you please link it for me...without the "your stupid" way of putting it

Certain things don't like to work on my phones Internet so searching sucks


I wasn't being mean and I did not state you are stupid. Please try not to read into what I write.

As for linking it, I have been looking since I posted. You'd think the word 'feat' would be easy to find. Talk about a needle in a haystack. lol

- Gauss


I would appreciate it...if not I'm sure I can find it once I'm home


Bah, Im not sure I can find it. Ive been looking for over an hr. Ahhh well, its probably in there somewhere but since I cannot find it it 'doesnt exist'.

In any case, I do stand by the idea that you can choose not to use a feat.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charge Through, Improved Overrun, and Allies All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions