When does a melee touch attack count as AoO?


Rules Questions


Hello duders!

I seem to have become confused about the attack of opportunity rules.
If I remember correctly (and correct me if I am wrong) the following situations will provoke an AoO:

- An unarmed attack (except those who are monks/taken a feat)
- A spell used in a threatening square
- A move action where you leave a threatening square (with the exception of 5.ft step or withdraw action, or if a character succed on an acrobatics check)

There are two situations I am not quite sure of:
If I am correct, a touch attack does not provoke AoO, however if it is a touch attack as part of a spell being cast, it does. But what if it is a (Su) or a granted power from a cleric domain? Does supernatural abilities count as spell, when it comes to attack of oppertunity?


Unarmed strike: I believe so.
Spell: Only if they do not cast defensively, or if the spell is a swift or immediate action.
Moving: Correct
Touch attacks: Melee touch attacks do not provoke, although if the spell is not cast defensively in melee, the act of casting might provoke. Ranged touch attacks do provoke because you are aiming a ranged attack in melee (Also if you don't cast defensively in melee).
Supernatural: Normally, Su. abilities do not provoke by their usage alone, although if it is a ranged touch attack granted power of a cleric's domain, it might provoke if they attempt to aim the attack while being threatened in melee.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When does a melee touch attack count as AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions