Kobolds and Traps.


Rules Questions


When designing an encounter do you apply traps that a kobold makes towards the CR of the encounter? Or because kobolds are known for traps and they have the crafty ability do they not count?

And, what about traps that fall below CR 1? There doesn't seem to be any 1/2 or 1/3 increment? Do those count towards CR?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

if you include traps, you include the CR of the traps. The only time I would not, is if the kobold is using a spell to magically create a trap, temporary or not. As that should be included in the kobold's CR. just like if he summons a monster, you dont include the summoned monster's CR in the XP the party gets (same for animal companions). Hope that helps. If there is a secondary effect making the encounter harder, such as fighting the kobolds in tunnels and rooms designed for small sized creatures, making all the medium people squeeze or duck down and get negatives, that doesn't have a CR associated with it, but you should raise the CR of the encounter, as it will be significantly more difficult.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kobolds and Traps. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.