Vampiric gloves on a non-caster character?


Rules Questions


Just curious on the ruling here, but according to the item itself, "Three times per day, the wearer can use vampiric touch and bleed."

It doesn't, however, state at what caster level this item is supposed to be at. If, for example, a fighter were to wear these gloves, would the "caster level" for vampiric touch and bleed use the level of the fighter himself?

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/e-g/glove s-vampiric


The very page you linked wrote:

Aura moderate necromancy; CL 5th

Slot hands; Price 18,000 gp; Weight —

As magic items, caster or not, the gloves cast at the level of the item itself. In this case it would be 5. They give a 2d6 touch, never more, no matter your class.


http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/e-g/glove s-vampiric

Well, overpriced effect unless they factor the fact that you can perform Ranged Vampric Touch effect, but it only wortks against dying or bleeding foes...

But yeah caster 5 is listed so use that.

Liberty's Edge

Why do you feel it is overpriced? It follow almost exactly the price guidelines, actually it cost less than a what it would cost pricing it on the basis of the guidelines.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Why do you feel it is overpriced? It follow almost exactly the price guidelines, actually it cost less than a what it would cost pricing it on the basis of the guidelines.

3/day?

Pricing is 1800x5x3= 27, 000 x3/5=16, 200 gp for vampiric.
Bleed a cantrip (that dopes nothing but flavor) doesn't need caster higher than 1 =1080 gp

Total: 17, 280 gp
They charged you 1000 more than needed.

Liberty's Edge

No Starbuck, a magic item has 1 caster level, not several, so the bleed cantrip cost is 1800*5*0.5*3/8= 2.700

The item cost should be 16.200+2.700=18.900. It was rounded down by 900 gp.

BTW, bleed has a range of close, so it being cast a CL 5 make a difference, especially as the vampiric touch power has a range of 30' against a bleeding opponent.

An the ability of using vampiric touch at a range against targets that are dying or suffering from a bleed effect isn't even accounted in that formula.


Diego Rossi wrote:

No Starbuck, a magic item has 1 caster level, not several, so the bleed cantrip cost is 1800*5*0.5*3/8= 2.700

The item cost should be 16.200+2.700=18.900. It was rounded down by 900 gp.

BTW, bleed has a range of close, so it being cast a CL 5 make a difference, especially as the vampiric touch power has a range of 30' against a bleeding opponent.

An the ability of using vampiric touch at a range against targets that are dying or suffering from a bleed effect isn't even accounted in that formula.

Bleed just makes a target dying that is 0 hps, it really isn't useful asit doesn't actually make a target bleed.

The name is a misnomer.

Liberty's Edge

I.e. it get the dying condition on a stabilized target.
Exactly what you need to be able to use vampiric touch on them at a range.

And vampiric touch at range on dying or blleding targets is a good thing.


Thanks for the quick reply, you guys. Guess it's my fault for not noticing the CL 5 at the top of the item!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vampiric gloves on a non-caster character? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.