Kama, Double-Chained...again from a newbie


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

Okay, I've looked at the boards (which were confusing) on this earlier and have a question. The way the description reads:

Kama, Double-Chained: This weapon comprises a pair of kama connected with an 8-foot length of chain. The wielder can attack as if armed with a single kama in each hand or extend the chain to make a single reach attack. By swinging the rope, the wielder can whip the kama about to disarm or trip opponents. Furthermore, if one of the weapons is dropped, the wielder can retrieve as a free action by pulling on the chain.

So what I get is that you can make two attacks w/Two Weapon Fighting with only a -2 because they are both light weapons; or you can make one single reach attack action. Now comes the tricky part for me. Does the description imply that since the weapon has reach that you can trip and disarm at reach distance or do you need to be adjacent to your opponent?

Yeah, the subject has been beat up a little but I thought I'd ask the question anyway. Still a newbie, still learning. Appreciate the patience.


Short answer: Yes, you can do it by reach.

Slightly longer answer: You can actually make disarm and trip attempt with any reach weapon.
The Double-chained Kama have the trip ability, which allow you to drop the weapon instead of going prone if you miss the CMB check by 10 or more.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kama, Double-Chained...again from a newbie All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.