Casting spells while grappled


Rules Questions


What with the various errata and FAQ going around, I just want to make things clear:

If the spell only requires a Verbal do you still have to make a Conc check beating their CMD?

"A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell."

How about Somatic?

If there is also a material comp, do you need to make two checks, one to grab the stuff , another to cast the spell?

And SKR posted this:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2p19o?Dimension-Door-Question#33

The above is a legacy of the 3E grapple rules. With PFRPG redefining grapple as "I have your arm, not your whole body," the above doesn't make sense, and it was only present in one part of the Core Rulebook (in the Concentration section, I think). So it's being removed in errata: the "no somatic components while you're grappled" rule shouldn't be in the book

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

DrDeth wrote:

If the spell only requires a Verbal do you still have to make a Conc check beating their CMD?

"A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell."

Note that you still have to make the concentration check even if it's a spell-like ability (right there in your quote). Spell-like abilities don't even have components, so achieving a similar state with an actual spell isn't going to save you a concentration check while grappled.

Quote:
If there is also a material comp, do you need to make two checks, one to grab the stuff , another to cast the spell?

I'm not aware of any rule that states or implies that you would need to make a separate concentration check to pull out material components.

Quote:

And SKR posted this:

Linkified

The above is a legacy of the 3E grapple rules. With PFRPG redefining grapple as "I have your arm, not your whole body," the above doesn't make sense, and it was only present in one part of the Core Rulebook (in the Concentration section, I think). So it's being removed in errata: the "no somatic components while you're grappled" rule shouldn't be in the book

If you check out the spot he's talking about, you'll see that even with the removal of the part about somatic components, you still need a concentration check to successfully cast. But at least you can attempt a spell with S or M components, which the rule he's talking about would prohibit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting spells while grappled All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions