| Serisan |
My understanding is that ALL spells that you haven't used remain until you spend your time studying to refresh your spells. Thus, if a Wizard had Grease, Knock, and Color Spray prepared and unused, is knocked out and captured, then wakes up the next day, he still has all three spells prepared. All of your other spells that were expended remain expended, but you can study as soon as you retrieve your spellbook to replenish your slots that have not been used since your rest. Cantrips are no exception to this.
Caveat: if you, upon waking, use your Grease spell, that counts against your daily spells for the current day when you study again. Thus, if you have 3 level 1 spells, you only have 2 remaining when you prepare later that day.
| BillyGoat |
By my reading, nothing in the Wizard rules stipulates that his spell-slots "reset" to blank after resting.
That is to say, I don't see anything to suggest that, after resting but before studying, he has lost any of his already prepared, but uncast, spells. This would be the case regardless of spell level.
Relevant text:
He must choose and prepare his spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying his spellbook. While studying, the wizard decides which spells to prepare.
Note the omission of having to re-prepare already prepared spells.
| BillyGoat |
So what if he has cast all of his cantrips at least once the day before?
Well, the reason you have to "re-prepare" used spells is because using the spell "expends" the spell slot it was prepared with. Cantrips don't do this, they are infinitely re-useable.
The rules stipulate that cantrips function as any other spell, except that the casting doesn't expend the spell slot with which they were prepared.
Therefore, with no further RAW stating that cantrips must be prepared daily, the only conclusion available is that cantrips only need to be prepared if you wish to change your selection. Thus, a mage is never truly disarmed, unless you implement Rule Zero.
edit
Further confirmation:
Prepared Spell Retention: Once a wizard prepares a spell, it remains in his mind as a nearly cast spell until he uses the prescribed components to complete and trigger it or until he abandons it. Certain other events, such as the effects of magic items or special attacks from monsters, can wipe a prepared spell from a character's mind.
So, since cantrips are not lost upon casting, the only typical thing that causes them to be lost is intentional abandonment.