
OblivionLost |
I couldn't find anything about this, so I apologize if this has been asked before.
I'm making an Arcane Trickster, and found a spell combination that I would love to try, but haven't been able to find any reliable information on, so here goes -
1) I know and Unseen Servant can't attack, but can it interact with other creatures? The spell just lists minor things such as opening things involving objects, but makes little mention of other creatures.
-When I say "Interact" in this case, I mean something along the lines of opening a sleeping creatures mouth, and crawling down it's throat with a small weapon (Via Shrink Item) so I can dismiss Shrink Item spell and have the weapon impale the creature from the inside.
2) Should that fail, whether because I can't do that with a Servant or because the creature is awake and able to react to something trying to open it's mouth, can the servant manipulate an item however I command it?
-In this case, going between it's feet and aim a weapon such as a sword or spear upward, so once dismissed, the item will impale the enemy from below.
3) From what I understand, a character can't use a weapon if it's a size category larger than them; does this also apply to "attacks" made in the manner I mentioned above, even though I'm not technically wielding it?
Thank's for reading, and feel free to correct me if I misunderstood something.

Arizhel |

An unseen servant is an invisible, mindless, shapeless force that performs simple tasks at your command. It can run and fetch things, open unstuck doors, and hold chairs, as well as clean and mend. The servant can perform only one activity at a time, but it repeats the same activity over and over again if told to do so as long as you remain within range. It can open only normal doors, drawers, lids, and the like. It has an effective Strength score of 2 (so it can lift 20 pounds or drag 100 pounds). It can trigger traps and such, but it can exert only 20 pounds of force, which is not enough to activate certain pressure plates and other devices. It can't perform any task that requires a skill check with a DC higher than 10 or that requires a check using a skill that can't be used untrained. This servant cannot fly, climb, or even swim (though it can walk on water). Its base speed is 15 feet.
The servant cannot attack in any way; it is never allowed an attack roll. It cannot be killed, but it dissipates if it takes 6 points of damage from area attacks. (It gets no saves against attacks.) If you attempt to send it beyond the spell's range (measured from your current position), the servant ceases to exist.
So, I would say NO to 1) because:
(1) invading the body of another is an attack, IMHO.
(2) not a 'simple' instruction
Number I would say NO to 2) part 2 (can the servant aim?) No because:
(1) Brace that there, and point that end at X is not a simple command.
Here is a sample list of simple commands (From Handle Animal, I removed the combat tricks, and track, because; Unseen Servant's cannot attack and do not have scent.) Just to give you an idea of what a Simple Command is:
Come (DC 15): The animal comes to you, even if it normally would not do so.
Fetch (DC 15): The animal goes and gets something. If you do not point out a specific item, the animal fetches a random object.
Heel (DC 15): The animal follows you closely, even to places where it normally wouldn't go.
Perform (DC 15): The animal performs a variety of simple tricks, such as sitting up, rolling over, roaring or barking, and so on.
Seek (DC 15): The animal moves into an area and looks around for anything that is obviously alive or animate.
Stay (DC 15): The animal stays in place, waiting for you to return. It does not challenge other creatures that come by, though it still defends itself if it needs to.
Work (DC 15): The animal pulls or pushes a medium or heavy load.
If don't think it is reasonable to ask a mindless blob of force to do more than an Animal Companion could (my logic is a Class Feature should be more capable than a level 1 spell.)
(2) Mindless + tool (weapon) usage doesn't jive, this includes the ability to aim.
Number 3) N/A. It can carry objects.
============================================
Tangentially related:
A falling object deals 0 damage for 10' or less (Core Rule Book, Page 443).
The suddenly growing object under the creature is just falling up instead of down. So even if I allowed some of the above, it would be mooted by the lack of damage regardless.

Valandil Ancalime |

1- Crawl down it's throat, No. That's an attack. Place an item in an open mouth, hmmm?
The servant cannot attack in any way; it is never allowed an attack roll.
The "not allowed an attack roll" is obvious, but the blanket "cannot attack in any way" part is interesting.
2- and 3- "going between it's feet and aim a weapon", no. Aiming would require an attack roll and if you wanted to have any effect the US would need to aim.
Can it drop stuff? Perhaps over a foe (who is sleeping on the ground), and perhaps what is dropped is dangerous (a bowl of acid). Maybe a shrunken spiked heavy iron ball onto their face? Is this an attack?
There is lots of room for interpretation, so I would suggest you ask your DM how he would interpret "cannot attack in any way" and "simple tasks".

mcherm |

Arizhel:
I don't think that the list of simple commands from Handle Animal is an appropriate starting point for determing what an Unseen Servant can do. With those sorts of limitations the spell could never be used for my own archetypal image of the spell: washing and folding my laundry for me. The spell explicitly mentions it's being able to "clean and mend" and those are well beyond what any animal can be trained to do.
However, to answer the original poster's question, I think that the explicit spell language "The servant cannot attack in any way" is fairly clear. It could probably carry a shrunk item over and place it somewhere (perhaps even underneath the monster), but shoving it down the beast's throat or aiming seems right out.