Bonded Witch Item Spells


Rules Questions


Do you think that the spells cast from a bonded witch bonded item need material components? The description seems to suggest not, per the wording "The spell is treated like any other spell cast by the witch," however casting a spell from an item generally does not require the material component. Balance-wise, I feel no material component would be good, whereas needing a material component would be needlessly limiting. Opinions?


It's just another set of spells you can get once per day. You need the material components just "like any other spell cast by the witch."

Grand Lodge

Arcane Bond Item casting does not change any of the aspects or components needed to cast a given spell.

All you're getting is free access to any spell in your "book".


They don't even do that, LazarX. The object can only cast from a small, specific array of spells that grows as you level instead of any spell you know. If that's what you meant by "book" then I misunderstood.


I guess he was speaking about the wizard version of the bonded item, not the witch archetype version.

Grand Lodge

Perhaps someone might want to link what the OP is talking about for greater clarity?


The bonded witch description.

Link

Grand Lodge

In that case this line seems to spell it out cut and dry.

"The spell is treated like any other spell cast by the bonded witch,including its casting time, duration, and other effects dependent of the bonded witch's level. It's treated just like any other spell the witch can cast, so that means components and all are unchanged.


Absolutely. Material components are needed for item spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bonded Witch Item Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions