Can Spellsong conceal a Bard spell cast from a wand?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Spellsong:
Benefit: You can combine your bardic performance and your spellcasting in two ways. First, you can conceal the activity of casting a bard spell by masking it in a performance. As a swift action, you may combine your casting time of a spell with a Perform check. Observers must make a Perception or Sense Motive check opposed by your Perform check to realize you are also casting a spell. This uses 1 round of your bardic performance ability, regardless of the spell's casting time.

Second, as a move action, you can use 1 round of bardic performance to maintain a bard spell with a duration of concentration. You can cast another spell in the same round you are using bardic magic to maintain concentration; if you do this, your concentration on the maintained spell ends when you end the bardic performance the spell is part of.

Wand:
Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for non-humanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.

Subject is the question, here are relevant sources. I think the answer is yes: using a spell trigger is casting a spell. Or is this stretching it?


No, I don't believe you can. Using a wand and casting a spell are different. (note that one provokes and the other doesn't)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Spellsong conceal a Bard spell cast from a wand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions