1 Spell per round limit?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

There was a note that Jason Buhlman had made in one of the Mythic Playtest threads that apparently there actually is an implied limit of 1 spell per round, with the caveat "A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round.".

So there seems to be some rules support limiting the spells you can cast in a round. How does this interact with optional systems like Hero Points? Since the ability makes a specific exception for spells cast as a swift action, are there any builds or abilities outside of the Hero Point and Mythic optional systems that would actually be impacted by this?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Casting Time wrote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round.

It's in the CRB. No idea how Hero Points affect it, so I'll leave that to wiser heads than I.


While you can use a hero point to gain an extra standard or move action...I'm not particularly sure if that actually allows the use of another spell (even if the spell is a standard action cast time)...I am currently trying to find more info on it for you but that's the only hero point rule I can find that would affect it...I will post more when I find anything

Scarab Sages

Chemlak wrote:
Casting Time wrote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round.
It's in the CRB. No idea how Hero Points affect it, so I'll leave that to wiser heads than I.

Oh I know where it was, that's why i linked it in above, I just:

a) know that a lot of people weren't aware of it

b) wasn't sure how it interacted with some of the optional subsystems (JB clarified how it would be treated for Mythic)

and

c)was curious as to whether or not there were current builds that had some manner of casting multiple spells around other than using Swift actions, and how this would impact them.

Scarab Sages

Drakkiel wrote:
While you can use a hero point to gain an extra standard or move action...I'm not particularly sure if that actually allows the use of another spell (even if the spell is a standard action cast time)...I am currently trying to find more info on it for you but that's the only hero point rule I can find that would affect it...I will post more when I find anything

My thought was that this actually means that a wizard couldn't use a Hero Point to cast a spell after having already used his standard to cast one (or vice versa) and there doesn't appear to be anything in the fairly limited write up on them that would give them an exception. Is that about right?


From what I am finding on the subject elsewhere that seems to be the case...but I do not however see an issue with a caster using his spell then using a hero point to use a staff or wand to cast another spell that way (if you just GOTTA DO IT lol)

Scarab Sages

Drakkiel wrote:
From what I am finding on the subject elsewhere that seems to be the case...but I do not however see an issue with a caster using his spell then using a hero point to use a staff or wand to cast another spell that way (if you just GOTTA DO IT lol)

Plus it probably makes you more likely to use school abilities, bloodline arcana, hexes, etc.


That too...that too...my only personal experience with hero points was using one to get a +4 to a roll to keep myself from being polymorphed into a song bird lol


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ask yourself this question, what implies why you can only cast one spell per round?

Answer:
Each round you have 1 standard action.
Most spells require 1 standard action to cast.

Thereby implying you can only cast 1 spell per round. Swift action spells can be cast in the same round as a standard action spell because they don't require the standard action.

Implication is then that in all situations where you could gain an additional standard action you could also cast an additional standard action spell - this is implied. Any intent by the developers to void this would need to be very explicitly listed, because really if you can't cast a standard action spell in a standard action anymore, then it is no longer a standard action - and ought to be called something else.


They had this in a play test...I cannot recall which and since I'm not at home on my laptop I cannot find the link but they did specify that you are limited to only one spell a round unless it was swift...the play test went into epic level stuff where they were even giving players more than one turn per round...that's where I recall the rules about only one spell per round...they were saying it kind of kills casters if they were to do the "more than one turn per round" thing...HOWEVER I may be incorrect and may have confused some of my readings with others and if I am please feel free to correct me since I'm not sure


bbangerter wrote:
Implication is then that in all situations where you could gain an additional standard action you could also cast an additional standard action spell - this is implied. Any intent by the developers to void this would need to be very explicitly listed, because really if you can't cast a standard action spell in a standard action anymore, then it is no longer a standard action - and ought to be called something else.

While I'm partial to agreeing that ultimately may be RAI, but RAW says otherwise. The reason we can only cast one spell per round if this quote, straight from the casting time section:

Quote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

That's not infering anything, it says your normally limited to one spell a round, swifts non-excluded. It doesn't say, getting another action allows you to cast again that round. Personally, I think they either need to remove this rule.

However as it stands... I don't have a problem in play with it. It allows casters to do things they normally wouldn't do, like use a potion/other ability. Though I guess that my opposition to this rule just a morale one...

Scarab Sages

Darth Grall wrote:
***However as it stands... I don't have a problem in play with it. It allows casters to do things they normally wouldn't do, like use a potion/other ability. Though I guess that my opposition to this rule just a morale one...

I agree that casters still have plenty to do with that extra standard action, what with school/bloodline/hex/domain/mystery abilities, use activated items, etc.

It is a fairly interesting rule though.

**EDIT** I found the link where JB verified that even if you gain an extra standard action this ruling should still apply (at least for now). And here it is!

Jason Buhlman wrote:

"Hey there folks,

There is some text, in the sections that talk about casting quickened or swift spells, that notes that you are limited to only casting one spell per round (calling such spells out as an exception). As of this time, lets stick with that rule and say that amazing initiative does not let you cast an extra spell..."


Ah...thank you Ssalarn for finding that...I am almost home and was going to end up digging for it but you beat me to it lol...I read so much stuff about pathfinder and other games that I forget "where" I read them so am constantly unable to quote them :(

Scarab Sages

Drakkiel wrote:
Ah...thank you Ssalarn for finding that...I am almost home and was going to end up digging for it but you beat me to it lol...I read so much stuff about pathfinder and other games that I forget "where" I read them so am constantly unable to quote them :(

No problem! I've got a list of developer quotes that I've been accumulating to address situations like this, so I went ahead and added this one to it :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 1 Spell per round limit? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions