Can the Dazed condition be broken?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

From the rules:

Dazed - The creature is unable to act normally. A dazed creature can take no actions, but has no penalty to AC.

It doesn't mention if daze can be broken, though. I'm prepping a module for my first time GMing, and it includes a necrophidius. It does a Dance of Death that can daze the PCs for 2d4 rounds. It also says that it is a mind-affecting compulsion effect. My question is, if the monster hits one of the dazed PCs, will that PC remained dazed, or does it break out of it? Not sure how attacks affect mind-affecting compulsion effects.

Thanks!


Conditions that receive new saves say so (see the "fascinated" condition). Dazed doesn't say so, so it doesn't receive a new save for being smacked (or anything else, short of abilities that grant special new saves).

Grand Lodge

Ok, thanks Oladon! I figured as much, but wanted to make sure.

Sovereign Court

The restorative touch ability of the Restoration subdomain can remove dazed at 1st level, a paladin's mercy, and the merciful healer cleric archetype can remove it at 6th. The heal spell also does the trick!

Attacks won't snap you out of it anymore than they would someone under the hold person spell which is also a mind-effecting compulsion.

--Vrock of Ages


What KoV said.

If 3E material is allowed, that opens up many other ways of curing daze, too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can the Dazed condition be broken? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.