Dispel Evil ("With a touch")


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Dispel Evil

First, you gain a +4 deflection bonus to AC against attacks by evil creatures.

Second, on making a successful melee touch attack against an evil creature from another plane, you can choose to drive that creature back to its home plane. The creature can negate the effects with a successful Will save (Spell Resistance applies). This use discharges and ends the spell.

Third, with a touch you can automatically dispel any one enchantment spell cast by an evil creature or any one evil spell. Spells that can't be dispelled by dispel magic also can't be dispelled by dispel evil. Saving throws and Spell Resistance do not apply to this effect. This use discharges and ends the spell.

I'm just curious about the wording on these two. Does that mean if I make a slam attack with a monster that has this spell active I can choose to do the Third ability? It seems worded differently than the second power above which requires a touch attack explicitly.

Thoughts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

From PRD:
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Based on this, I would say that you can use the on-touch effects of Dispel Evil as part of a slam attack, but some people might rule it differently since it isn't a touch spell in the same way as Shocking Grasp and the like.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

The expectation seems to be that you'd be using that third ability on a "friendly" target that had been enchanted by an evil creature, such as when the evil cleric of evil casts "hold person" on your meat-shield. You have to touch your guy to fix that.

I don't know of any enchantment spells offhand that an evil creature would cast upon itself that you'd want to dispel when you slam attack it. There might be something with the evil descriptor though, but I don't have extensive knowledge of all the evil spells.


Protection from Good


Doesn't cleric buff spells (sacred bonus when cast by a good cleric and profane when cast by an evil cleric) get the good or evil description based on the sacred or profane bonus ?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dispel Evil ("With a touch") All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions