Absorb Toxicity and Undead Anatomy spell questions


Rules Questions


First off, am I reading Absorb Toxicity right? That is, you can opt to never absorb a poison or disease and just have immunity for 10 min/CL?

Spoiler:
You absorb the toxicity of your surroundings, becoming toxic as a result. While under the effect of this spell, you are immune to diseases and poisons with which you come into contact. When you are exposed to a disease or poison, you can choose to absorb it. Doing so ends the immunity due to this spell to any disease and poison other than the one you absorbed. You remain immune to the new affliction until this spell ends. Casting absorb toxicity on yourself a second time does not allow you to absorb a second toxin, but instead resets the duration of the effect to its full 10 minutes/level.

If you do choose to absorb it, how does it work? The text implies you can pass it on to others. But how so (injury with natural weapons? which ones?) and for how long (end of spell duration?) or how many creatures can you spread it to?

And then, Undead Anatomy I. I have a small dex-based melee Alchemist, and since by the spell's wording, you get the claws and bite regardless of chosen form, this spell looks rather attractive to me as an emergency for battles the mutagen is not available (I rely on feral mutagen). The problem is... I want a form that can fly. Casually searching, I've already found about six corporeal humanoid-shaped *medium* undead with flight, but I can't seem to find a single small one, which is most irritating. Are there any? 3rd party PF is ok as long as it's on d20pfsrd.
Since Zombie is listed by the spell as a valid example, and Zombie actually just a template applied to a different creature and one that retains flight from the base form, can I just polymorph into the zombie of a small winged race?

Thanks for the help.


Yeah, you can just never absorb anything and be immune.

If you choose to absorb it, you transfer it via a touch attack.

"While you have a disease or poison absorbed, you can use a melee touch attack to transfer that affliction to another creature."

Seems pretty clear to me.

And it lasts until you transfer it.

"If you hit, this spell is discharged, and your target must make a saving throw against the transferred affliction (DC equal to this spell’s save DC or the affliction’s save DC, whichever is higher) or suffer its effect or initial effect immediately. The target then continues to suffer from the affliction’s normal effects."

As for Undead Anatomy, yes, you get claws and a bite regardless. As for valid forms: zombies and skeletons are templates, which cannot be assumed via polymorph effects. It is an error that they are mentioned in the spells--perhaps the author did not understand the new polymorph rules, or Undead Anatomy was written during an earlier draft when you could polymorph into templates.

It's worth asking your GM about, though. Many will allow it because it's mentioned in the spell anyway.


...I guess when i looked at the spell, there was a page load error. I honestly did not see those other 2 paragraphs for Absorb Toxicity. Ok, so that's answered! My character bites basically anything, so poison/disease immunity is probably a good idea.

I figured templates still weren't allowed per the polymorph rules, but possibly could be due to specific over-riding general, but it's probably just a mistake. I'm not sure there are any humanoid-shaped small winged creatures anyway, so I would've still needed help finding a form either way.


The problem with specific overriding general is that it requires the specific to say that it is overriding the general.

Undead anatomy implies that templates are allowed by mentioning templated undead and including power that are only on templates, but it doesn't specifically state that templates are allowed.

Just like it implies you don't get all the form's attacks by always giving you three attacks, but it doesn't specifically state you don't get the form's attacks, therefore RAW, you do get them.


Interesting. Then, what forms would provide the most additional attacks on top of the bite/claw/claw?

Medium or small is ok. Taking a hit to dex and size bonus hurts, but could be worth it for a lot of attacks. I will assume any of the creature's own claws, slams, or bites won't stack with those granted by the spell unless it has additional limbs or heads, so I guess the creature would need gore, tentacle, things like that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Absorb Toxicity and Undead Anatomy spell questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions