
![]() |

So I am looking at making a water specialist wizard. This means my "opposed school" would be fire. My question is, what if a spell is on both lists? (eg on my water list as well as the fire list, such as the summon monsters?)
I could see the justification that it would cost 2 spells slots if I wanted to summon a fire elemental but that doesn't quite fit with the rest of the rules.
Thanks ahead of time for the help.

![]() |

I thought that if you summoned a lawful good celestial, or a chaotic evil fiend, that the summon spell you used gained the descriptor of that alignment, and that, similarly, summoning an elemental gave the spell that summoned it the descriptor of that element. So summoning a fire elemental, thus making the spell of the fire descriptor, would take up two slots for you, but summoning a water elemental would not.