Words of Power and Expanded Arcana


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hello,

can a Sorcerer who is a wordcaster according to the Words of Power rules from Ultimate Magic use the feat Expanded Arcana to add a spell from the sorcerer list to their spells known?

The rules for words of power say

PRD wrote:
A character who elects to be a wordcaster in a spellcasting class typically cannot use the spells of that class (though there are feats that allow a wordcaster to learn and use a limited number of spells; see Word Caster Feats) [...]

but the linked list of Word Caster Feats only includes Experimental Spellcaster, Extra Words, and Meta Word Mastery, so no feat that actually grants spells to a wordcaster.

In comparison, the spells granted by the bloodline are available for a Sorcerer, so there is an example of a wordcaster using spells.

Thanks in advance for your advice.


Hi Netdiver,

I'm including the full block from the Words of Power section as I think it's all relevant:

PRD wrote:

Becoming a Wordcaster

When a character gains the ability to cast spells from a class, he must decide whether to become a wordcaster or a normal spellcaster in that class. Once made, this choice cannot be changed. A character who elects to be a wordcaster in a spellcasting class typically cannot use the spells of that class (though there are feats that allow a wordcaster to learn and use a limited number of spells; see wordcaster feats), but he can utilize spell trigger and spell completion items just as if he were an ordinary spellcaster of that class.

The bolded section is really the key line for your question. The Wordcaster feats do not include Expanded Arcana, but the text indicates that you CAN take feats to learn and use spells. The term spells always refers to the standard casting.

Expanded Arcana has the following pre-reqs:

Quote:

Prerequisites: Caster level 1st, see Special.

Special: You can only take this feat if you possess levels in a class whose spellcasting relies on a limited list of spells known, such as the bard, oracle, and sorcerer.

You can gain Expanded Arcana multiple times.

Compare this to Extra Words:

Quote:

Prerequisites: Caster level 1st, ability to cast wordspells, see Special.

Special: You can only take this feat if you possess levels in a class whose spellcasting relies on a limited list of words known, such as the bard, oracle, or sorcerer. You can take this feat multiple times.

I don't know if you actually meet the special requirements for Expanded Arcana if you are a Wordcaster.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Words of Power and Expanded Arcana All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions