
Ytterbium |
From the Archmage list:
Archmage Arcana: Select one of the following abilities at 1st tier:
Wild Arcana (Su): You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one arcane spell. This spell must be on one of your arcane spell lists and must be of a level that you can cast using that arcane spellcasting class. You don’t need to have the spell prepared or on your list of spells known. When casting a spell in this way, you treat your caster level as two levels higher for the purpose of any effect dependent on level.
Does "any one arcane spell" include spells from prohibited schools? My wizard could really use a Fireball right now, except it's on my opposition school list. Would the Wild Arcana ability still let me cast it (and at +2 caster level to boot)?
I'd think the answer would be yes, I can cast Fireball, which fits the wording of "any one arcane spell," but this seems like a sneaky way to go around specialist wizards' spell restrictions.

![]() |

Well remember that the penalties for opposed schools in Pathfinder are very minor. You would still have Fireball on your spell list even if you had evocation as an opposed school unlike in old editions of the game Pathfinder has it's roots in.
You have opposition schools, not prohibited schools. Well except for one particular Arch-type that was in some book someplace.

PhillyG |

I was about to suggest that casting spells from your opposition schools could cost 2 MPP; then I realized that there is no counter-benefit for specialists.
I would agree to opposition school spells costing 2 MPP IF specialist school spells were free. Otherwise, I say let the rule stand "as is".
Disclaimer: My playtest character is a divination specialist with the wild arcana ability.