How do you use Pages of Spell Knowledge?


Rules Questions


It doesn't list a slot.

It doesn't specify that it has to be in your hand to use it.

So, is there anything keeping a wealthy sorcerer or bard from filling their portable hole with these things and saying "I know 'em all. Don't worry."

I would ASSUME that it has to be in your hand, and it's otherwise like casting from a scroll...which means that it's a little more challenging to just have exactly the one you need on hand, and makes it less useful for sorcerers who have something else to do with their hands (like an Eldritch Knight build...)


nope they are slotless, you can buy as many as you like. just have them on you somewhere. but they get expensive if you want a lot of higher level spells. my pfs sorcerer bought 6 level 1 spells when he was level 10, comes in handy.

plus you can let other casters borrow them if needed.

my rogue who is eventually going to have a faerie dragon familiar is going to buy 10 or so, because faerie dragons are sorcerers.


10 Level 1 spells plus what they already know... Nice...

But yeah as long as you have them in your gear you can use them.

Shadow Lodge

I always thought with slotless items, you need them in your hand or "out" so as to "invoke" their magic. Seems strange you can have it in your backpack and still use it?

I'm trying to think of other items to use as a precedent, but unless they specify floating around your head like an ioun stone, surely you need the slotless item out?


I would say they would be stored in a Scroll Case or such. Slotless just means they don't need to be worn in a major slot.

Think of a Handy Haversack. It functions even if you aren't Carrying it. Only certain ones require you to manipulate them.

I take it as: Once you read it you have a connection to it. Afterwards it just needs to be on your person for its magic to give you the knowledge of the spell.

Liberty's Edge

They will work while they are on your person (pocket, backpack and so on).
They will not work (I think) if stoved in a extra dimensional space like a portable hole, even if you are carrying the hole, as they aren't on your person but in a pocket dimension.


Diego Rossi wrote:

They will work while they are on your person (pocket, backpack and so on).

They will not work (I think) if stoved in a extra dimensional space like a portable hole, even if you are carrying the hole, as they aren't on your person but in a pocket dimension.

Exactly.

Though an Efficient Quiver and that type of Extradimensional Space I would allow. So a Library of Scroll/Efficient Scroll Case(2 names for the same 3.x Item) would allow them to use the PoSK.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How do you use Pages of Spell Knowledge? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions