Crafting Ioun Stones


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

"The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites."

Would this mean that a caster can create ioun stones even if they lack the required caster level of 12th by increasing the DC?

I read the rules as the answer is yes, but I would like to see other folks opinions, and possibly even one of the developers from Paizo chime in if they have time.

Thanks in advance folks.


I'd wait a week or two, Sean K Reynolds has promised an FAQ this month on what the +5 can be used to bypass, and what it can't, so this will likely be answered by the dev directly.

Dark Archive

Excellent! I had missed that message from Sean.


It's over in his thread asking about questions on crafting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting Ioun Stones All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.