Large cat animal companion rake format is odd...


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Rake format is supposed to be (2 claws +8, 1d4+2)
Large cat just says (d6)
Do people interpret this as (2 claws, d6), or that the cat is just the only creature in the game with a single rake attack? Would have been nice for them to follow the format regardless...


Greetings, fellow traveller.

I'd just do a cross check under Universal Monster Rules in the PRD where the circumstances and attacks are specified.

These rules tell you that it would indeed be 2 free claw attacks, each doing 1d6 (after evolement)+Str modifier if the prerequisites are met.

But yeah, format is a bit odd.

Ruyan.


grab also does't follow the format, it's normally listed with the associated nat weapons' damage as 'XdY dmg + grab', which indicates which nat weapons it applies to, but the companions don't say that, they just list grab in the SQs.
so you have large cat companion, meant to cover both tiger and lion, which just says it has the grab ability but no details... tigers have grab on their bite and both claws, while lion only has grab on the bite. which is it for large cat companion? who knows...

p.s. hit FAQ on this sort of thing. then paizo has to know about it, which makes it their problem not yours. ;-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Large cat animal companion rake format is odd... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions