Exact Meaning of "Adjacent Square" in grapple.


Rules Questions


In a recent game we ran into an interesting situation and I'm hoping for some help resolving the question. Thank you for your patience in answering another grapple question.

My party was fighting a large creature with 10' reach and the Grab special ability in a 10' wide hallway. We had two PCs in the front line, adjacent to the monster.

The monster successfully attacked and grabbed a PC in the second row. Since that grappled PC was not adjacent to the we had to next determine if there was an open adjacent square. This is where we found disagreement.

One side said that since the squares in between the grappled and the monster were occupied the grapple should fail.

The other side (which contained the DM, so you know how it went) contended that since the monster had open adjacent squares on it's OTHER SIDE the grappled PC was moved there.

It was a bad situation with a squishy PC now on the other side of a big monster. Hilarity ensued.

So this brings the question of what exactly is meant by "adjacent square."

I was on the side that said that the grapple should have failed, that it was unreasonable to suggest that by succeeding in a grapple you could move a character to a square all the way on your other side.

On the other hand a big and dangerous critter with long tentacles could just lift you and move you... but if that's the case why does it only get that power when there's someone occupying a square in front of you...

Input would be appreciated. I couldn't find this addressed anywhere else.


Its up to the grappler which open adjacent space. He could also move the creature above him.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Johnlocke90 is right. A creature with reach gets to pick the square every time, it's not just limited to the nearest open square and it can be the square above the creature.. The other time a grappler can move the creature to any adjacent square is when they maintain the grapple and attempt the move action. They can move up to half their speed and put the grappled creature in any adjacent square.


I'm suspicious about the idea that 'you can place a creature in the open air', but haven't found anything to explicitly contradict it yet.

If you use the Move component of a grapple and place them in a dangerous location (such as high enough above the ground that they'd take damage) then they get a free attempt to break the grapple at a bonus, but that doesn't seem to be written to apply to the initial adjacement placement of a creature.


"adjacent square" is not the same as "threatened square", let's not confuse the two. He cannot re-place the grappled PC two squares behind him, for instance, because it's not "adjacent". It has to be butted up against his base to be adjacent.

A large-sized creature could indeed grapple a PC in the "second row" in a 10' wide hallway and move him to the "adjacent square" behind him, if one or both of them were empty. It still counts as an open adjacent square as long as it's right against his base.

The only time this combat maneuver would fail would be if there were no adjacent squares in front, behind, or above the large-sized creature.

For instance, if he were squeezing into a 10' high by 10' wide hallway, with 2 medium-sized creatures in front of AND behind him, then he could not grapple a PC in the "second row".


I am now imagining Large creatures dangling characters 10 feet off the ground, unable to be healed by the reach of their allies.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Troubleshooter wrote:
I am now imagining Large creatures dangling characters 10 feet off the ground, unable to be healed by the reach of their allies.

If you place the target in open air, I'd say that's the same as placing him a hazardous position (risking falling) giving hive a free attempt to break the grapple with the +4 bonus.


Barry Armstrong wrote:

"adjacent square" is not the same as "threatened square", let's not confuse the two. He cannot re-place the grappled PC two squares behind him, for instance, because it's not "adjacent". It has to be butted up against his base to be adjacent.

A large-sized creature could indeed grapple a PC in the "second row" in a 10' wide hallway and move him to the "adjacent square" behind him, if one or both of them were empty. It still counts as an open adjacent square as long as it's right against his base.

The only time this combat maneuver would fail would be if there were no adjacent squares in front, behind, or above the large-sized creature.

For instance, if he were squeezing into a 10' high by 10' wide hallway, with 2 medium-sized creatures in front of AND behind him, then he could not grapple a PC in the "second row".

He would still have open squares between 5 and 10 feet off the ground.

A better example would be a large creature in a 10 by 10 hallways with large creatures on both sides of him.


johnlocke90 wrote:

He would still have open squares between 5 and 10 feet off the ground.

A better example would be a large creature in a 10 by 10 hallways with large creatures on both sides of him.

Hmm, good point. Although, as stated above, if the creature physically moves them to a square placing them in a hazardous position, even 10 feet off the ground, they would get another grapple check to break it due to the possibility of fall damage.

10' off the ground right above their allies is a lot less precarious than the monster placing them on the other side of it where they cannot get to him at all (or possibly even see him, depending on the monster).

Both are legal. What is NOT legal is the monster lifting the PC in the second row straight up into the air 10' away from them. That square might be within threatened reach, but it is not "adjacent" to the monster. They have to pull them 5' closer to the base.

So, as johnlocke says, a large creature with 15' reach who has large creatures on both sides of him in a 10' x 10' hallway would fail a grapple check on a medium creature behind the large ones.


Thanks for the commentary folks.

It doesn't seem to quite make sense to me but if that's the rule... (I'll change it when I'm running game ;)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I once had a tendriculous grapple and dangle a PC dwarf 30 feet off the ground. The stumpy bastard managed to escape and, via a number of successful acrobatics checks and abilities, "surf" his way down a tentacle safely to the ground.

:P


Ravingdork wrote:

I once had a tendriculous grapple and dangle a PC dwarf 30 feet off the ground. The stumpy bastard managed to escape and, via a number of successful acrobatics checks and abilities, "surf" his way down a tentacle safely to the ground.

:P

That's one spry Dwarf.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Barry Armstrong wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

I once had a tendriculous grapple and dangle a PC dwarf 30 feet off the ground. The stumpy bastard managed to escape and, via a number of successful acrobatics checks and abilities, "surf" his way down a tentacle safely to the ground.

:P

That's one spry Dwarf.

He was caught swallowed whole, chopped his way out, ran away, got caught and dragged back kicking and screaming, got away again, got caught again, killed the monster. And did I mention he was an old dwarf?

Dwarven paladins kick ass.


Ravingdork wrote:
Dwarven paladins kick ass.

Concur. I have a long-standing hatred for Paladins personally, but I kinda want to try a Dwarfadin just for S&G's. Possibly go Stonelord just cause.


Ravingdork wrote:
Barry Armstrong wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

I once had a tendriculous grapple and dangle a PC dwarf 30 feet off the ground. The stumpy bastard managed to escape and, via a number of successful acrobatics checks and abilities, "surf" his way down a tentacle safely to the ground.

:P

That's one spry Dwarf.

He was caught swallowed whole, chopped his way out, ran away, got caught and dragged back kicking and screaming, got away again, got caught again, killed the monster. And did I mention he was an old dwarf?

Dwarven paladins kick ass.

This is what he's talking about when he references Rule of Cool, folks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Exact Meaning of "Adjacent Square" in grapple. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions