Bonded Objects and existing magical items


Pathfinder Society

Scarab Sages 5/5

Let's say, I have a wand as a bonded object and half way through the scenario I find a wand of magic missiles. Can I turn that magic wand into my new bonded item by paying the 200 gp per wizard level?

PFSRD wrote:
If a bonded object is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the wizard prepares his spells. If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item. A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item.

Also, as an FYI.

Joshua J. Frost wrote:

As for the arcane bonded item for a wizard, I am making no changes to the way the arcane bond works on page 78 of the PRPG Core Rulebook. Though PFS doesn't have item creation feats, the arcane bonded item for a wizard still allows that wizard to use those feats per the rules on page 78 of the PRPG Core Rulebook. Please insure that you have fully familiarized yourself with those rules as there are several easy-to-miss steps in there. Specifically, the line

PRPG Core Rulebook wrote:

"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the level prerequisites of the feat."

means the wizard still has to pay the associated costs and must have the correct item for the feat. (For example, he must have an arcane bonded item "wand" to add wand abilities or must have an arcane bonded item "sword" to add weapon abilities, etc.)

Liberty's Edge 4/5 *

I can't see why not, as long as your adventure has room in it for you to take 8 hours out for the ritual, and the other characters don't object.

Grand Lodge 5/5 ****

Yes - But

First the yes. Off course you can change the bonded item. It is part of the core rules.

But

You have to wait for a week after the old bonded object is lost or destoyed to get a new bonded item. Most scenarios are over in this time and you have massive problems casting without a bonded item. You nerfed yourself for the rest of the adventure. So best is to do this after - not during the scenario. This avoids this penalty.
And no matter if during or after the scenario - you still need to pay for the wand. Just because it becomes your new bonded item doesn't make it free.

Theodum - proud owner of a Staff of Fire as his bonded item

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Bonded Objects and existing magical items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society