Cestus as magical gloves?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

The only references to this I can find in the main rules forum indicates it's a GM call, so I'm coming here to see if a call has been or could be made:

APG wrote:
Cestus: The cestus is a glove of leather or thick cloth that covers the wielder from mid-finger to mid-forearm.

Question 1: Being a "glove", it appears the cestus occupies the hand slot, meaning you can't also wear magical gloves. Is this correct, or can you wear wondrous item "hand slot" items along with a cestus?

Question 2: There is a general PFS rule that a masterwork item can be upgraded into a magic item, even a named item, as long is it is of the right type. Could a masterwork cestus, as a "glove", be enhanced into magic gloves? The ones I am interested in at the moment are Gloves of Arcane Striking from UE, but this has general applicability, if legal.

Grand Lodge

IMO, while a cestus is, technically, a glove, it does not use the gloves slot.

First, it is a weapon, not a wondrous item. After all, the same could be considered true of gauntlets, either plain or spiked, since they cover the hands as well.

Second, a cestus is a single item, not a pair, and most glove wondrous items are pairs.

The only magic item, besides a weapon, that cesti might be turned into would be Claws of the Ice Bear or Cave Bear, whichever it is, although I think they don't do as much damage as a cestus.

Liberty's Edge

And once again, I find that a post I made has been moved to the Rules forum, despite the fact that I was asking for a PFS specific discussion of something that has already been discussed with no resolution in the rules forum.

Why? Can it please be moved back where the people I wanted to see it can see it?

Grand Lodge

A Cestus(even magical one) is not a Magical item that occupies the hand slot.
It is treated no different than a Magical Dagger in your hand.


RAW a cestus is a weapon so it doesn't occupy the hand slot. So for fps you can most likely just wear your gloves of arcane striking and your cestus at the same time.
In at least some homegames this will be different.
I, for example, would rule that you can enchant gauntlets and the cestus either as a weapon or as a wondrous item. But you can't wear both a cestus and a gauntlet at the same time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cestus as magical gloves? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions