Feral Gnasher Question


Rules Questions


Improved Lockjaw (Ex) wrote:
At 6th level, as long as a feral gnasher is controlling the grapple with her lockjaw attack, she does not gain the grappled condition, but is unable to move or use her mouth for anything other than grappling. This ability replaces trap sense +2.

I have a question on the syntax above. Is it stating that the feral gnasher can't move its mouth or that it can't move at all?

I know if you're grappled you can't move. The creature controlling the grapple, however, can normally move himself and his victim with a successful check to maintain his grapple. Is this stating that a feral gnasher can't move its opponent after reaching 6th level OR is it just reminding the player it can't just walk around freely now that it no longer has the grappled condition OR is it only stating that the feral gnasher can't talk, use verbal components or potions while using Improved Lockjaw?


You can't move your character. Feral gnasher is small. So a feral gnasher grappling would kind of be like jumping up and grabbing onto the guy. YOu can't move with it.


johnlocke90 wrote:
You can't move your character. Feral gnasher is small. So a feral gnasher grappling would kind of be like jumping up and grabbing onto the guy. YOu can't move with it.

So at 3rd level when it gets Lockjaw and gets the grab special ability with its bite, it can initiate a grapple and then when maintaining its grapple it can move its opponent, but suddenly at 6th level when it no longer has the grappled condition while using its bite/grab, it can't move? That makes no sense.


Two ways to look at it:

1) You cannot move while using imp. lockjaw. So long as you do not move, you do not have the grappled condition yourself. If you choose to drag your opponent around, then you gain the grappled condition until the start of your next turn.

2) You can move while grappling so long as you take the other guy with you.

It is probably meant to be 2. The important note is that being grappled means you cannot move unless you perform the special grapple action of dragging the other guy with you. This rule is so that you don't say "well, I have him grappled but I'm not grappled, so I can move away because the rules don't say otherwise". You think this is obvious but some people are so rules-as-written that it hurts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Feral Gnasher Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.